98 Formula
    06 duramax

owned by idle tuning

Been working this week on getting my car to idle correctly after the cam and heads ( 228R cam). Not having a whole lot of luck with it. I've made several changes and I'm not much better off than before I started. I'm using edit and logging with efilive. Right now my cold idle really sucks for about 10-15 seconds after start up. I have to feather it to keep it running but after that it idles perfect. I'm also gonna have a cruise effect problem if/when I ever take it out of the garage. When I put it in gear it idles up and wants to pull the car. Right now my idle is set at 900 but I would like to get it down to 850 at some point. I know these are pretty much all air flow issues. I just need to figure out which tables to start working on for each individual problem. I won't get into all the adjustments I've made so far but I've did the standard Nogo idle tune like the first 3 columns of the ve and stuff like that. I started playing with the iac park position, idle air, and MAF tables tonight. Not much luck so far. Last night using the set screw I had my warm IAC counts at 55 but after fooling with it tonight they're up around 95-100 now. I'll start all over tomorrow night and see what I end up with. I'll update the thread as I go and hopefully you guys can give me some input and we'll get a decent idle tuning thread going.

hi---With cammed cars that i tuned i usually work on these tables to cure the most common errors--
    B5933 Base timing in P/N add 2-4 * in all RPM ranges in idle area
    B5932 base timing in gear same
    B4307 desired airflow ADD % in both P/N and in gear but work on 1 table at
    a time--start by adding 5% at a time---If you are getting a "cruise
    control" affect or hanging idle in either-you went too far and start subtr.
    5% at a time back