Results 1 to 4 of 4

One Bank Running Rich

This is a discussion on One Bank Running Rich within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Before I get flamed, I'm still learning LS1 tuning and diagnosing problems with the LS1 (3800 V6 Tuning Veteran here, ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Thornton, Colorado
    Posts
    5

    GM Victory Red
    98 Pontiac Grand Prix GT

    One Bank Running Rich

    Before I get flamed, I'm still learning LS1 tuning and diagnosing problems with the LS1 (3800 V6 Tuning Veteran here, trying something new) so try not to poke too much fun.

    My buddies WS6 was running like total crap. We pulled out all the spark plugs and Bank 1 (Drivers side?) all looked ok, but the other side's spark plugs were just very very black. Driving around town, sometimes the wideband readings are totally normal, and sometimes at cruise it goes to < 10.0 AFR's and it sounds like a pretty hectic misfire out the exhaust.

    I know (at least think) that each bank of the motor is ran separately, so what should I be looking for? Faulty 02 on the rich bank? Vacuum leak? Fuel pressure?? Should I run the car in open loop and see if it fixes it to eliminate or confirm an 02 sensor problem?

    Marc

  2. #2
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    what did the trims look like side to side? They're gonna be a little different but from the sounds of the plugs I'd say you have some sort of mechanical issue going on over there. Any exhaust leaks on that side? Any certain time it does it? Injector sticking maybe?

  3. #3
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Besides a leak, it could be a lazy O2 that is staying low. When they are at the end of their life they will often read falsely low as well. You can force OL in the scanner, reset the trims and log. Just a log of it happening for someone to see,even if the wideband isn't present should go a long way as well. You can alternately swap banks with the O2s to see if the issue moves, but the others should be easier all around.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Thornton, Colorado
    Posts
    5

    GM Victory Red
    98 Pontiac Grand Prix GT

    Yup, bank 2 02 sensor is fried. Tuned the car in OL for now until he can get the sensors replaced.

    Thanks for the help fellas.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. SES CODE running rich bank 2...
    By GNICTRY in forum General Help
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 08:12 AM
  2. Help: LS1 ruunning rich on Bank 1
    By MTT700 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-15-2010, 10:13 PM
  3. 1 bank runs rich
    By anuka in forum General Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-05-2009, 04:20 PM
  4. 04 GTO Diablo Tuner SES L/R Bank to Rich
    By ctbeiser in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-16-2006, 07:04 AM
  5. bank 1&2 runnung rich codes????
    By 98ls1 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-15-2005, 02:55 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •