Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Red
    1997 Geo Tracker w / LS1

No top end (yet)

Finally got to the track. Geo Tracker with 98 LS1/ 4L60e with stock everything except open element air filter, no cats and true 2.5 dual exhaust and turbo mufflers. Ford 8.8 posi rear with 3.73:1s. On a crazy hot day it spun hard in first two gears on a greasy track ran a string of 13.02-13.06 runs at 104.7-105.2 mph, 60' times were 1.93 to 1.98. I popped the right headlight out and spun the air intake tube around for a cheap cold air and picked up to a best of 12.75 with most in the 12.82 range at 105.8 to 106.9 mph and the 60' times dropped to 1.919 avg, and a best of 1.869. It leaves hard but I think at 2900 lbs with me in it it should easily top 109 to 111 mph. It has not been tuned and I haven't even swapped the plugs that came in the Ebay motor. I have less than $6K in the whole deal including the Tracker and the wheels and tires so I am just getting started. I plan to do the usual stuff, LS6 intake, 3000-3500 stall convertor and cam but wanted to know how much I can expect with just a good tune on the stock motor? By the numbers my horsepower is down below 275: I have friends topping 108 with their F-bodies. FYI, it ran great, no missing or bogs and went through the lights at 5100 rpm and was amazingly consistent. The track didn't help as I had to leave from idle or spin and it spun in second most of the time. On the few runs with no wheel spin the best mph was 106.93 so still down on power. With the windows down it smells rich on top so I hope a tune will get me 20-30 hp minimum.

What a fun ride that should be. With a short (and narrow) wheel base, I wouldn't want to be sideways for too long That's just not something I want to go fast in.
    On my bone stock 02 SS a simple tune done by me with HPtuner got me a solid 3 tenths and nearly 3 mph. So I'd guess a solid 20 hp isn't out of the question in my case.

98 Formula
    06 duramax