Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 32

my are in headers but it dont run right now

This is a discussion on my are in headers but it dont run right now within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; so i just put 1"3/4 to 3" long tubes headers and a 3" y on my ls1 but on the ...

  1. #1
    Member mikey gavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    bruce
    Posts
    214

    bright red
    1998 formula trans am m6,

    my are in headers but it dont run right now

    so i just put 1"3/4 to 3" long tubes headers and a 3" y on my ls1 but on the way home it started running like crap back firing when i would put it down could this be cause i dont have rear o2s off yet?

  2. #2
    Senior Member 98maro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    north bay california
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,973

    Black
    00 camaro ss M6 #6695

    You Have to tune your PCM.
    00 ss blk m6 " STOCK" strano springs, slp bilstein shocks, adj LCA, adj panhard bar, relocation brackets, 2 point SFCs welded,OEM zo6 rims black, magnaflow exhaust, CME exhaust,E/cutout, slp grille, custom front plate mount, HIDs, whistler mod, side moldings delete, slp air lid, ported and polished TB, strut tower brace, 3.73s gears, and some other parts to list!
    next to come,4.10s,ls7 clutch, ms3 or 228r cam, ported 243s, ls6 intake, ls6 oil pump. ls2 timing chain, longtube headers no cats, with a tune..
    02 tahoe Z71 blacked out
    00 jeep grand Cherokee limited on 22s.
    07 Dodge Charger R/T Inferno Red, Sold
    98 z28 red m6 sold
    07 zx6r ninja flat/black sold
    08 zx6r ninja sold

  3. #3
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    definitely an issue there with the install. Are your front O2's hooked up? Check for cracked plugs or plug wires that weren't installed all the way.

  4. #4
    Member mikey gavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    bruce
    Posts
    214

    bright red
    1998 formula trans am m6,

    yeah it has front ones they are new they are 13111's but yeah no tune yet so it had plenty of power in first but at low rpm's and i get oln her it starts doing it but i stll will burn um with no problem in first

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    The headers alter the airflow characteristics through your engine so your Volumetric Efficiency (VE) table is now off. However, it shouldn't run that bad. Like 0rion said, it sounds like you have something else going on. Any SES codes popping up? Was the battery disconnected during the install? Are the plug and coil connections fully seated -- 1 click on the plug and 2 clicks on the coil?

  6. #6
    Member mikey gavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    bruce
    Posts
    214

    bright red
    1998 formula trans am m6,

    i didnt unhook the battery i didnt think i would have to..it wasnt that bad till i got on it after driving it about 4 or 5 miles but it never really got that bad

  7. #7
    None Shall Pass Knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East of Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    3,828

    Black
    99 WS.6 - Modified

    Agree with checking ^. Also, you might want to check your header bolts and connections to make sure they are all tight. Make sure the header gaskets are good as well.

  8. #8
    Member mikey gavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    bruce
    Posts
    214

    bright red
    1998 formula trans am m6,

    well i just went out there and 3 wires were loose 2 of them went on 2 clicks the other was loose on click all on the coil end. think that was it?

  9. #9
    None Shall Pass Knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East of Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    3,828

    Black
    99 WS.6 - Modified

    Quote Originally Posted by mikey gavin View Post
    well i just went out there and 3 wires were loose 2 of them went on 2 clicks the other was loose on click all on the coil end. think that was it?
    Quite possibly. Run it and find out.

  10. #10
    Member mikey gavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    bruce
    Posts
    214

    bright red
    1998 formula trans am m6,

    yeah but i dont wanna drive it on these salty shity roads im in wi lol

  11. #11
    None Shall Pass Knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East of Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    3,828

    Black
    99 WS.6 - Modified

    Quote Originally Posted by mikey gavin View Post
    yeah but i dont wanna drive it on these salty shity roads im in wi lol
    Understood, I'm in NE Ohio so I know just what you mean. I'm willing to guess that was the source of your problem though.

  12. #12
    Moderator 35th-ANV-SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wherever life takes me
    Posts
    12,465

    Red
    02 35th LE Camaro SS

    So you were basically running on 6 cylinders...I would say yes, that was your issue.

    Like mentioned, after a LT install, a tune is NOT a necessity, but recommended.

  13. #13
    Member mikey gavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    bruce
    Posts
    214

    bright red
    1998 formula trans am m6,

    i hope that was it

  14. #14
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,996

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    sounds like you found the problem. the other possiblity that came to my mind was a O2 sensor wiring melted against the headers.

  15. #15
    The Demon Demon_Z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    648

    Bright Rally Red
    2001 Camaro SS

    Quote Originally Posted by mikey gavin View Post
    i hope that was it

    Happened to me before lol, Was wondering why my car was running so rough, Spark plug wire on #8 didn't click all the way in there. Running on 7 cylinders lol.

  16. #16
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by Cutlass View Post
    sounds like you found the problem. the other possiblity that came to my mind was a O2 sensor wiring melted against the headers.
    that's some more good advice right there. It sounds like the spark plug wires were your problem but if not check that wiring.

  17. #17
    Member mikey gavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    bruce
    Posts
    214

    bright red
    1998 formula trans am m6,

    well i went out and looked from what i could see out there in the snow everything looked ok but its not up in the air so its kinda hard to see but it looks fine

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Papillion, Ne.
    Age
    60
    Posts
    11

    Marina Blue
    1968 Chevelle SS396

    Somewhat the same problem

    I have somewhat the same problem after installing LT's and ORY. I only have the front 2 O2 sensors and car seems to run fine but it has a flat spot and it sucks the gas and pops real loud when letting off the pedal. Since I have the SLP loudmouth exhaust I'm assuming I need a muffler to add a little bit of back pressure. New plugs and everything hooked up properly! The car is a 1999 Z28 with a 6 speed manual tranny.

  19. #19
    Member mikey gavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    bruce
    Posts
    214

    bright red
    1998 formula trans am m6,

    i think i might of found the problem on mine i have a cracked plug on the porsolin part i havent got one yet to see if that fixes it, but that worries me now cause it looks like it was burnin fine. but i under load is when mine acts funny if i give it (wot) it pops loud and just dont have the power it did. like at 40 mph in 4th if i give it a little gas it sounds like its out of gas by the way it pops and feels. after i did the the car seems to shake a little more that it did..

  20. #20
    Senior Member JayTA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    3,351

    Mean Black
    1998 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by mikey gavin View Post
    i think i might of found the problem on mine i have a cracked plug on the porsolin part i havent got one yet to see if that fixes it, but that worries me now cause it looks like it was burnin fine. but i under load is when mine acts funny if i give it (wot) it pops loud and just dont have the power it did. like at 40 mph in 4th if i give it a little gas it sounds like its out of gas by the way it pops and feels. after i did the the car seems to shake a little more that it did..
    A crack plug will cause issues. when was the last time you changed the plugs? maybe is time to put new ones in.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Dont know what this could be
    By kenro23 in forum General Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-10-2011, 09:24 AM
  2. Help: dont know what this is .....please help
    By RobertSS in forum General Help
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-17-2011, 04:32 AM
  3. Dont get it !!!
    By karpetcm in forum External Engine
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 01-08-2009, 04:38 PM
  4. You dont need to know
    By Sarge in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 11-03-2006, 11:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •