Results 1 to 5 of 5

Manual/auto PCM

This is a discussion on Manual/auto PCM within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Been doing some research, but would like some info reaffirmed as well as some new knowledge from some of you ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Durham, CA
    Posts
    24

    Blue
    05 Camaro

    Manual/auto PCM

    Been doing some research, but would like some info reaffirmed as well as some new knowledge from some of you guys that are much more familiar with this than I am. The LS1 and LS6 apparently will take the same wiring harness with a break at O% for throttle by wire. And apparently after that as well. So my question is two fold. Does the same ECM work for both engines? And also can you use the same ECM for manual and auto trannys? LS2 seems to take a different wiring harness, but does it use the same ECM as the LS1?

  2. #2
    Spaz is My Mentor SMWS6TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ugy Lower Corner of AL
    Posts
    10,434

    Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/a little mods...

    The ECM's for LS1's and 6's are the same. However it's the yr that the ecm was made prior to 04.


    The yr breakdown of the ECM's are:

    97-98 LS1 - Has smaller processor then the following and less detailed software. IIRC my tuner said that the software has broader data blocks meaning that on the following tuners can make finer adjustments in the tune.
    99-00 LS1
    01-02 LS1 Same ECM as the 99-00 but the software is different, more detailed.

    Here on Frost site he says what ECM's come in what vehicles, it would be a good idea to contact him to get the best answers.
    TunedByFrost.com - Products


    As far as I know the ecm's are the same whether auto or manual. It's in the software that they turn on or off the auto/manual features. The wire harness needs to be configured for the auto or trans.
    With the LS2 harness it's setup differently because the map sensor and some of the other accessories are located in different positions compared to the LS1.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Durham, CA
    Posts
    24

    Blue
    05 Camaro

    Thanks for the info. I will contact him when the time comes. I had a suspicion that the ECMs were the same, but just a matter of wires hooked to them for the auto but wasn't sure.

  4. #4
    Spaz is My Mentor SMWS6TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ugy Lower Corner of AL
    Posts
    10,434

    Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/a little mods...

    There are a few places that can take your harness and convert it over to auto or manual. The harness also needs to be convert to work with the proper ecm. 97-98 are setup differently then 99-02 harness.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Durham, CA
    Posts
    24

    Blue
    05 Camaro

    Thanks, good to know. I was reaching my conclusions from looking at sites like Painless wiring. That is why I am asking the gurus

    I have done some re pinning of ECM plugs

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: auto, or manual shift auto?
    By mark21742 in forum GTO
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-03-2009, 05:38 PM
  2. Auto to manual
    By yosteff in forum LT1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-23-2009, 06:34 AM
  3. WTT My 99 T/A auto for T/A Manual
    By griftymcgrift in forum Vehicles For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-26-2008, 06:47 PM
  4. Auto or Manual
    By LS1Noob in forum Drivetrain
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 03-13-2008, 07:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •