LS swap tuning problem

This is a discussion on LS swap tuning problem within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Newbie here. I've worked in the restoration and hot rod world for many years but the vast majority of my ...

Silver
    1967 Chevelle

LS swap tuning problem

Newbie here. I've worked in the restoration and hot rod world for many years but the vast majority of my experience has been with older carbureted engines. This week a customer brought a recently purchased '67 Chevelle to me with a LS swap, supposedly a Corvette LS1. Among the long list of things that he wanted addressed was the car running cold, and a problem with the idle speed. Since I knew that engine temp can affect the engine tuning the first order of business was to correct the cold running issue. A thermostat change sorted that right out, but the idle speed issue has remained. The car has a somewhat lumpy idling camshaft but the specs are unknown.

The idle issue presents itself like this - when the car is started cold the engine comes up to a high idle (1500 rpm) and remains there as it warms up without dropping off as the temp comes up. If you pull the car down into gear the idle drops down to about 850 rpm and it isn't straining against the convertor. Put it into neutral or park and the idle will remain at 850 rpm, unless and until you touch the throttle then it will return to 1500 and stay there unless you put it back into gear. If the engine is shut down hot and restarted it immediately comes up to the 1500 rpm idle and remains there until it is pulled into gear. I've checked the throttle cable and throttle body and there is no sticking or binding and the throttle arm returns to the stop as it should. I'm suspecting a faulty IAC but don't know how to test it and don't want to just start throwing parts at it. Any ideas on how to proceed are appreciated.

Super Moderator

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban