Results 1 to 10 of 10

Lost my Tune Outs

This is a discussion on Lost my Tune Outs within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I drove Nymphadora the other day because it was nice out (it's been about a month since she was started). ...

  1. #1
    Sold: LS1 '85 El Camino ls1camino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Laurel, Maryland
    Posts
    4,977

    2000 Grand Prix GTP
    2000 Trans Am WS6 M6

    Lost my Tune Outs

    I drove Nymphadora the other day because it was nice out (it's been about a month since she was started). As I started to drive out of my neighborhood my Service Engine Light came on. I swung by Autozone to have them check it out. The codes were the things I had deleted right after I bought the car...Rear O2 Sensors and EGR/AIR. They have been tuned out for over a year and all of a sudden they come back on...any reason for this?

    PS: I have not done anything to the car since it's been parked.

  2. #2
    Senior Member TransAm11973's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    in my Trans Am
    Posts
    2,630

    Black
    2000 Trans Am WS6

    that is wierd

  3. #3
    Impounded
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beaver Dam KY
    Posts
    7,746

    79 T/A -91 Firebird
    1998 Trans Am -Oynx Black

    Tuned out or did you get sims?

    WTF is up with these computers loosings tunes.like 5 this week

  4. #4
    Sold: LS1 '85 El Camino ls1camino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Laurel, Maryland
    Posts
    4,977

    2000 Grand Prix GTP
    2000 Trans Am WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by JoshieDoom View Post
    Tuned out or did you get sims?

    WTF is up with these computers loosings tunes.like 5 this week
    Tuned out (deleted).

  5. #5
    Impounded
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beaver Dam KY
    Posts
    7,746

    79 T/A -91 Firebird
    1998 Trans Am -Oynx Black

    Quote Originally Posted by ls1camino View Post
    Tuned out (deleted).
    Supposedly computers just CANT loose tunes... and revert back to stock..

    Im really baffled on this. There has been about 5 threads this week about people "loosing" tunes.

  6. #6
    Senior Member TransAm11973's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    in my Trans Am
    Posts
    2,630

    Black
    2000 Trans Am WS6

    yea i have no idea what to say......I think you car is alive actually

  7. #7
    Member Justin93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    CANFIELD, OHIO
    Age
    31
    Posts
    654

    PEWETER METALIC
    2002 CAMARO Z-28 M-6

    has the check engine light come back on since autozone scanned the car and cleared the codes? If its still off it could be a glitch, my car did that this sunday when I was warming it up. I just deleted the codes and drove it for about 150 miles with no CEL coming back on.

  8. #8
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Without seeing a file from a car and having the NUMBER for the DTC it's hard to comment as to what is going on; especially if the code was read at Autozone. Their txt description of the DTC number are generic and commonly aren't exactly right.

    At any rate, you cannot 'lose' a tune without replacing or re-writing the PCM.

  9. #9
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    were those the only codes thrown? Let me give you a scenario. There are 4 choices when dealing with dtc's in hptuners for say the EGR.
    0-MIL on first error
    1-MIL on second error
    2- No MIL light
    3-No error reported

    if it was set to 2 then it would still report the error but it wouldn't turn on the light then if you throw another code and read the car you'll see the egr dtc's also. You want those codes set to 3...no error reported.

  10. #10
    Sold: LS1 '85 El Camino ls1camino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Laurel, Maryland
    Posts
    4,977

    2000 Grand Prix GTP
    2000 Trans Am WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by Frost View Post
    Without seeing a file from a car and having the NUMBER for the DTC it's hard to comment as to what is going on; especially if the code was read at Autozone. Their txt description of the DTC number are generic and commonly aren't exactly right.

    At any rate, you cannot 'lose' a tune without replacing or re-writing the PCM.
    Oh ok...well in anycase, I'm bringing the car to you in the spring for a Tune, so you can delete the codes properly then

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    were those the only codes thrown? Let me give you a scenario. There are 4 choices when dealing with dtc's in hptuners for say the EGR.
    0-MIL on first error
    1-MIL on second error
    2- No MIL light
    3-No error reported

    if it was set to 2 then it would still report the error but it wouldn't turn on the light then if you throw another code and read the car you'll see the egr dtc's also. You want those codes set to 3...no error reported.
    I have no idea what they were set to, to be quite honest.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. What are the best cut outs?
    By Mike0202 in forum External Engine
    Replies: 71
    Last Post: 03-02-2011, 08:17 PM
  2. cut outs...
    By mr_r0bert0 in forum External Engine
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2009, 03:31 PM
  3. Lost tune?
    By RealLiveMD in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-09-2008, 09:05 AM
  4. Handheld Tune?shop Tune? software running on my laptop tune?on my SS
    By showtimesteele99SS in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-2007, 06:31 AM
  5. What to do if stock tune is lost?
    By rajohns in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-03-2007, 01:59 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •