Results 1 to 9 of 9

lc-1 or other wideband?? (asking ls1.com guys)

This is a discussion on lc-1 or other wideband?? (asking ls1.com guys) within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Ok so I have this thread over on ls1tech, and I just wanted to post it up here to see ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    15

    Blue Green Chameleon
    1999 Pontiac Trans Am

    lc-1 or other wideband?? (asking ls1.com guys)

    Ok so I have this thread over on ls1tech, and I just wanted to post it up here to see what you guys think to get a second opinion.

    Here is what I have posted on that ls1tech:

    I was looking to get 2 widebands put in when I do my headers.

    I want to do this to ensure both banks on the motor are running the same, and to use each other to rule out bad sensors without having to take it out and swap sides or sensors. (if that makes sense)

    Eventually I want to get hptuners and hook them both into there, but limiting funds now I cannot get hptuners at the moment.

    I think the cheapest I found the lc1 for was 139.

    Would this be the best WB for me to run, plan on running them all the time as the NB 02 sensors as well as WB for hptunes to datalog? Or is there a better route to go?


    Plans for the car:
    TSP 1 7/8 headers
    LS6 intake
    Eventually Tune for e85
    Cam and heads down the road

    I just dont want to buy $40 extensions, then later pay 300+ for widebands, seems like a waste of money to me, but it may have to be done





    Now I am thinking about getting the extensions, so I can use my old widebands in order to break in the headers, then get atleast 1 wideband to run all the time

    So far the general consensus is the NGK wide band and only one

    Let me know what you guys think, 1st hand experience is greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    I installed an LC-1 on my car. Had it for a year and then gave it away and replaced it with an Autometer wideband. It kept throwing error codes anytime I went WOT or opened my cutout. Innovate tech assistance recommended a bung extension which did absolutely nothing.

    - - - Updated - - -

    BTW: Welcome to the site!

  3. #3
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    I run an LC1 in mine with no issues....been in there a couple years now. Unless there's been some headway made in the last couple years running the wideband as a narrowband is generally a pain in the ass more than anything else. Also, there's really no need to monitor both banks because we can't control the banks individually with tuning. My suggestion would be to run only 1 wideband regardless of your choice of wideband. It will do what you need it to do.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    ^^ Agree. No need to run two separate widebands in our cars.

  5. #5
    Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

    Ed Blown Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    50,748

    Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

    I run a single lc1. And have no issues using a single wide band for tuning.

    And welcome
    Black 1999 Blown Convertible A4
    Forged 383, ATI D-1SC
    NX MAF Kit | 222/226 .585 115
    AS Stage II 6.0L FI Heads
    Moser 9" | 3.70 | Wavetrac | 35 Spline | Vigilante 3600
    548.0 RWHP - 563.8 RWTQ - 10# - D1

    666.0 RWHP - 734.2 RWTQ - 125 Shot - P1

    Black 2009 Escalade Hybrid 4WD
    Black 2008 GMC Yukon Hybrid 4WD (Totaled)

    Black 2013 Chevy Volt (Gone)

  6. #6
    Member robs98mysticZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Waynesboro, Pa
    Posts
    256

    Mystic Teal Metallic:320c
    1998 Camaro Z/28

    lc-1 here absolutely no issues so far mines been in about 6 months

  7. #7
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Okay, I'll chime in with my oddball thinking

    I use the LM-1 so I can move it from car to car, once it's tuned I really have no other need for a wideband gauge in the car. I just weld bungs on the driver side pipe of everything I use it on, works great for tuning.

    Can't recall how long I've had it,,,maybe 10-12 years or more?? It's always worked flawless for me. Frankly once the car is tuned it's done, and I rarely break out the wideband for any further tuning unless something changed.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    I have an LM-2 as well. That one works just fine and has been used on multiple vehicles. As to the LC-1, I jumped on the intrawebs after installing mine and I wasn't the only one having the same issue. I calibrated the heater circuit, calibrated the sensor, changed the power source for it, tried the bung extension, re-programmed the sampling rate, etc. and nothing would make it work.

  9. #9
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by pajeff02 View Post
    I have an LM-2 as well. That one works just fine and has been used on multiple vehicles. As to the LC-1, I jumped on the intrawebs after installing mine and I wasn't the only one having the same issue. I calibrated the heater circuit, calibrated the sensor, changed the power source for it, tried the bung extension, re-programmed the sampling rate, etc. and nothing would make it work.
    WOW Kinda sounds like the LM version seems to be a solid piece of equipment, and everyone complains about the LC's....Made by the same place, I wonder how they could be so different in design to go from trouble free to major headaches? One is portable and one is fixed

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: What wideband
    By 99yellowz28 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-22-2014, 06:06 AM
  2. Wideband?
    By ESBdieselcam in forum General Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-15-2009, 04:16 PM
  3. wtb: lc1 wideband...
    By 0rion in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-03-2009, 11:46 PM
  4. wideband?
    By 99w69kitt in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-29-2008, 02:15 PM
  5. Wideband is Here!
    By Ed Blown Vert in forum Western Members
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-08-2005, 01:40 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •