Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 99

LC-1 install

This is a discussion on LC-1 install within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Originally Posted by 35th-ANV-SS This seems a bit complex. I like it. Glad to hear that someone finds this entertaining ...

  1. #61
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Quote Originally Posted by 35th-ANV-SS View Post
    This seems a bit complex. I like it.

    Glad to hear that someone finds this entertaining - lol. I had the LC-1 controller neatly tucked under my brake booster and had to rip it all back out to unplug it. I have a meeting tonight and am hoping I get done early enough to get out to the garage for a bit.

  2. #62
    Moderator 35th-ANV-SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wherever life takes me
    Posts
    12,465

    Red
    02 35th LE Camaro SS

    Quote Originally Posted by pajeff02 View Post
    Glad to hear that someone finds this entertaining - lol. I had the LC-1 controller neatly tucked under my brake booster and had to rip it all back out to unplug it. I have a meeting tonight and am hoping I get done early enough to get out to the garage for a bit.
    Well I wasn't inferring that your troubles were entertaining just all that is involved with tuning, monitoring, etc. I have confidence you'll get it figured out.

  3. #63
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Everything is hooked back up now, but rather than fire it off I put the car in the air to change the fluid in the rear and look things over. We have 500 miles on it now and I want to put a dial gauge on it to check the play. I have a faint thin stripe around the center of the ring gear's teeth, but everything else appears good. Not sure what that could be.

    Back to the LC-1 -- I did some more reading and am wondering if changing the sampling rate on the Analog 1 output would affect my A-pillar gauge. Right now, it is sloped similar to a narrowband in the setup and reads from approximately 0.2 to 1.2 volts. If I slow down the sampling rate from instantaneous to 1/12 or 1/6 might it possibly avoid the error I am getting? So far Innovate has not replied to my inquiry.

  4. #64
    Member luvmyz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Council Bluffs IA
    Posts
    192

    nbm
    99 z28

    O.k. I got the wires all connected except 1. In the quick start guide for the db-16 gauge that came with my lc-1 it says the yellow wire from the guage is to be hooked to a power wire supplying current to the headlights for dimming the guage at night. then it says if I dont want this feature that I need to connect the purple wire to ground. Only one problem with that.
    I HAVE NO PURPLE WIRE! Lol! I have a red, black,white,and yellow goin to the guage.

    Red:12v
    Black:ground
    White: connected to lc-1 brown analog out 2.
    Yellow: connect to headlights or ?

    I dont need a dimming feature and I dont wanna hack my headlight wiring harness.

    So do I connect the yellow from the guage to ground or cap it off?

    Yeah I know this is taking me a very long time to do this. Lol.

  5. #65
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    The headlight connection is actually quite simple. I checked my factory service manual to find the correct wire and then popped the headlight switch out of the dash (on our car you have to remove the instrument cluster bezel first). I backprobed the wires with a test light to ensure I had the correct one and then spliced it at the switch.

    If you are utilizing the paper instructions that came with your gauge, try the instructions on your disk (also on the Innovate website) as they are much more detailed. Let us know how you make out with the wiring.

  6. #66
    Member luvmyz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Council Bluffs IA
    Posts
    192

    nbm
    99 z28

    Thanks for the quick reply. I checked the disk but it says nothing about my guage. I'll give the web site a quick search though.

    Thanks.

  7. #67
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban


  8. #68
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    read the other side of the page....you're reading the side if you have an LM-1

    From the LC-1 instructions:

    1. Wire the LC-1 per the unitís instructions
    2. Connect the gaugeís RED wire to a switched 12 volt source
    (ignition switched).
    3. Connect the gaugeís BLACK ground wire at the LC-1ís
    White ground point. This ground point should ideally be an
    engine block ground.
    4. Connect the gaugeís WHITE wire to the LC-1ís Brown
    analog output 2. The gauge is setup to work with the LC-1ís
    analog output 2 factory default setting of 0v = 7.35 A/F and
    5v = 22.39 A/F.
    5. Connect the YELLOW wire to a headlight power wire (a
    wire that supplies current to the headlights). This enables the
    display to dim for better nighttime viewing. DO NOT
    CONNECT THIS WIRE TO THE HEADLIGHT DIMMING
    WIRE. Connection to this rheostat type of switch will cause
    the gauge to malfunction. If you chose not to utilize the
    dimming feature, connect the yellow wire to ground.

  9. #69
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Good catch! I saw "DB-16 gauge" and thought he had something different than my setup -- never realized that is what the gauge was called.

    On a side note... I just got off the phone with ECM. I've been all over the web looking for a retailer on their Lambda Pro setup and couldn't come up with anything. I have other cars that we need to tune and want a portable since the LC-1 is hardwired to the T/A. The good news: The fact that I am registered for one of Banish's classes entitles me to a discount. The bad news: Even with the discount they want $3,200.00.

  10. #70
    Member luvmyz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Council Bluffs IA
    Posts
    192

    nbm
    99 z28

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    read the other side of the page....you're reading the side if you have an LM-1

    From the LC-1 instructions:

    1. Wire the LC-1 per the unitís instructions
    2. Connect the gaugeís RED wire to a switched 12 volt source
    (ignition switched).
    3. Connect the gaugeís BLACK ground wire at the LC-1ís
    White ground point. This ground point should ideally be an
    engine block ground.
    4. Connect the gaugeís WHITE wire to the LC-1ís Brown
    analog output 2. The gauge is setup to work with the LC-1ís
    analog output 2 factory default setting of 0v = 7.35 A/F and
    5v = 22.39 A/F.
    5. Connect the YELLOW wire to a headlight power wire (a
    wire that supplies current to the headlights). This enables the
    display to dim for better nighttime viewing. DO NOT
    CONNECT THIS WIRE TO THE HEADLIGHT DIMMING
    WIRE. Connection to this rheostat type of switch will cause
    the gauge to malfunction. If you chose not to utilize the
    dimming feature, connect the yellow wire to ground.
    Well you may not believe this but on both sides it says connect the purple wire to ground. lol. I've been lookin at the lc-1 side. Thats what I have. So I just need to ground the yellow wire and all is well.

    I have the 6 wire lc-1. scratchin my head on where the purple wire came from. I dont have any. lol

  11. #71
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,997

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    Quote Originally Posted by pajeff02 View Post
    On a side note... I just got off the phone with ECM. I've been all over the web looking for a retailer on their Lambda Pro setup and couldn't come up with anything. I have other cars that we need to tune and want a portable since the LC-1 is hardwired to the T/A. The good news: The fact that I am registered for one of Banish's classes entitles me to a discount. The bad news: Even with the discount they want $3,200.00.

    wow...at that price I'd rather just buy an LM1

  12. #72
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Quote Originally Posted by Cutlass View Post
    wow...at that price I'd rather just buy an LM1

    Ordered an LM-2 last night.

  13. #73
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    I had fits with 2 LM-2s and ditched them both. I had the same problems that their forum is replete with... On top of that, the sensor's heater controller seems to be totally unchanged since the LM1 (which is a great piece). It seems like all of the cost is for all of the gadgetry. We don't need ANY of that other crap because we log it all with software.

    Used and new old stock of the LM1's are very very affordable.

    FWIW, ECM did the NGK AFX controller design. Besides the fact that they picked an odd number for stoich that seems to relentlessly confuse folks, the AFX is great. It can run the higher end NTK sensor that is lead tolerant as well.

  14. #74
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Looks like I should have asked on this one... my bad.

  15. #75
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    hopefully yours works better than the units that I received

  16. #76
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,997

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    So would I be better off buying a LC1 and making it portable so I can swap it in and out of cars or buying a LM1? Because I've been close to buying an LM1 for a couple weeks now, I just haven't pulled the trigger.
    From the sounds of it, LC1 is the better choice.

  17. #77
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    I think it's the LM-2 he's had issues with. I have the LM-1 and LC-1 and never had any issues with either.

  18. #78
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,997

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    ahhh gotcha. Yeah they were talking about LM2s...I read that wrong. I think LM1 would do about all I think I'd use it for. I figured I'd use HpTuners to datalog anything GM I was tinkering with and maybe use the built in datalogging of the LM1 for any other random thing I come across.

  19. #79
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    LM-2 should be here by Friday -- I'll let you know how it works. I am still wondering on my LC-1 if I can change the sampling rate on the Analog 1 output without adversely affecting the gauge. Can't hurt to try it, right?

  20. #80
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    The LM-2 showed up yesterday and we used it last night to get the fueling set up on a TBI motor in a rock crawler. It worked perfectly and we were able to set the idle and main fueling quite easily. Next step will be a test drive to dial in the rest of the fuel map for it. I did go with the basic LM-2 with none of the bells and whistles.

    Now... my LC-1 is giving me fits. I cannot get it to free air calibrate to anything other than 21.9% oxygen. That's 1% too high and it is whacking out my gauge big time. In addition to that, it was freaking every time I used the cutout. I tried reprogramming it with the LogWorks software and slowed down the sampling rate. Even that did not stop it from popping an Error 8 as soon as I open the cutout.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

LinkBacks (?)

  1. 10-13-2015, 03:12 PM

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 2002 Firebird Trans Am / Install 7.5-7.625-4:10 gear install
    By Buick455 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-09-2015, 06:17 AM
  2. Griffin radiator install, stand up radiator install
    By 02Sweet in forum External Engine
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-03-2012, 06:00 PM
  3. Install shop or DIY header install?
    By dethinboots in forum External Engine
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-24-2011, 07:35 PM
  4. Install help
    By ChadSheehy in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 06:43 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-11-2007, 10:30 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •