Results 1 to 18 of 18

Hypertech Tuning

This is a discussion on Hypertech Tuning within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; ...

  1. #1
    1969mach1
    Guest

    Hypertech Tuning

    On my 2001 Z28 with A4 I have A SLP cold air intake and Flowmaster cat back exhaust. Oh yeah and a HYPERTECH HYPERPACK programmer. I went through and adjusted all the setting I could... My question is in the transmission settings, you can increase your shift points by 100 RPMs over stock settings. Where is the stock setting at from the factory? The rev limiter was easy, i set it at 6500. I donít know how much to add for the shift... it doesnít give me a starting point.
    I have a set of slicks in the garage for the car. I thought I would take the car to the track... throw the slicks on and then play with the tuner...

  2. #2
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    wot shift rpm's
    1-2= 6000
    2-3= 5900
    3-4= 5900

  3. #3
    1969mach1
    Guest
    were is it set from the factory?

  4. #4
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    wot shift rpm's
    1-2= 6000
    2-3= 5900
    3-4= 5900
    that is the factory settings

  5. #5
    1969mach1
    Guest
    AH, very nice to know. So, that means im then shifting at 6400 1-2,
    6300 2-3, 6300 3-4.

  6. #6
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    honestly, on a stock valvetrain I wouldn't be shifting that high. I would keep them pretty close to stock until you upgrade the valvetrain. JMO.

  7. #7
    1969mach1
    Guest
    I too thought is was high but the car pulls hard all the way through.

  8. #8
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by 1969mach1 View Post
    I too thought is was high but the car pulls hard all the way through.
    can't really make that statement without a dyno. The butt-dyno is inaccurate in first and second gear

  9. #9
    1969mach1
    Guest
    Is it worth geting the car dyno tuned with only a lid and cat back??? the next items to come are Harland Sharp 1.8 rockers, long tubes with off-road Y-pipe, 3200 stall.

  10. #10
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    I would be worried about floating a valve with the stock valvetrain at those rpm's. You'd probably be fine, I just like to err on the side of caution. At that RPM I would say the stock cam has peaked and started falling off anyhow.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    fort payne alabama
    Posts
    6

    cayenne red metallic
    98 chevy camaro z28

    i had a hypertech and had my shifts at 6100 on shifts and then i had a full dyno tune done and the tuner{a friend that is one of the best on ls1's}set my shifts to 5900 on all shifts and the car ran faster at the track. over reving the car on stock valvetrain doesent realy help at the track. try this go to the track and take the hypertech out compleatly and make a few passes then put it back in and set things how you have them now and make a few more runs and shee if it helps. my car is sort of a frankenstien {98 camaro z28 with a 02 long block out of a ws6} and the car was never tuned when the new engine went in{i got it right after the swap}so when i went to the dyno the a/f was ok till about 3000k rpms then jusmped real rich and was killing top end power.thr what i said then when you think your done modding get a full tune and sell the hypertech on ebay.thats what i did.

  12. #12
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    I played with shift points on my auto,,,,and found raising the 1-2 shift to about 6,100 and leaving the 2-3 shift at 5,900 gave me the best times.

    When I had stock settings the 1-2 shift was accuring at 5,700 for some reason when I logged it. I kept bumping up the 1-2 shift until I logged 6,050 for the 1-2 and found that was the sweet spot for it at the track. Any higher and the times fell off. I left the 2-3 shift alone.

    The gear spread on the 4L60E sucks,,,and the rpm drop on the 1-2 is a ton,,,which would explain why the factory has a slightly higher shift programmed into the tune,,,helps the motor recover a little better in second gear.

    Like suggested I would play with it and see,,,,but like Orion said,,,,I don't think you'll find much past 6,000 rpms,,,,with a stock valvetrain,,,,especially with your 01 which would have the tiny little truck cam in it, like mine.

  13. #13
    Member 98ls1blackbird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Jenison, Mi
    Posts
    159

    Black
    1998 Trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by 1969mach1 View Post
    AH, very nice to know. So, that means im then shifting at 6400 1-2,
    6300 2-3, 6300 3-4.
    Stock rod bolts and powdered metal rods could be a problem at these rpm's.
    98 Trans Am, A4, 3.73, 3200 Vigilante, LCA's, reloc brackets, sfc's, panhard bar, adjustable torque arm, XS long tube headers, ORY, SLP CNC ported heads and all the free mods tuned with EFILive.
    Best 1/4 et 12.53
    Best 1/4 mph 107.78
    Best 60' 1.71

  14. #14
    1969mach1
    Guest
    rape-it till you break-it, LSX is in the future

  15. #15
    Junior Member lumina ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    ksa
    Posts
    4

    black
    lumina ss 2006

    hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii ,
    my car

    1>2 6200
    2>3 6300
    3> 4 6300 (with the shift)

    (auto)

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    bay area
    Age
    33
    Posts
    197

    NBM
    1999 Hardtop Z28

    return that hypertech piece of crap, and put that $300-350 towards a good dyno tune

  17. #17
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Actually I wouldn't even do that unless the shop guarantees they are not going to lock your computer,,,,if you are truely interested in tinkering with these cars and want full control,,,I would suggest putting your money towards a good software package and having unlimited abilities to tune the car for a lifetime without being tied down to a specific tuner/shop.

    It sucks having someone else tune or dyno tune the car and having the computer locked,,,,BEWARE!

    Do it yourself and enjoy the fruits of your labor.

    Hypertech isn't all bad so long as all your looking for is maybe a gear change/speedo recal, skip shift, shift points, fan control etc.....Thats what I use it for on my wifes 97 Z-28,,,since HPtuner doesn't offer a software package for this car,,,,,but if your looking for Horsepower then you won't really find it with Hypertech,,,,my car runs the same ET's with it as it does with the stock GM tune. But it's okay for the above mentioned.
    But if you plan to keep the car and continue with bolt ons and upgrades,,,,get yourself HPtuner or something comparable,,,with one of these cars I consider it a must have before anything else.

  18. #18
    Member TopForm11's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    107

    Black
    2002 Trans Am WS6

    I would be careul shifting that high.....

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Hypertech tuning?
    By 90ARAPAJ in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-27-2011, 08:26 PM
  2. Question: `98 T/A hypertech tuning RFG or NON RFG?
    By ls1robert in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-01-2010, 03:43 PM
  3. hypertech tuning
    By ur jlus in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-09-2005, 09:29 AM

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •