Results 1 to 10 of 10

HYPERTECH question

This is a discussion on HYPERTECH question within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I have a Hypertech programmer for my 2000 Z-28. I changed the gears (A4) to 3.73; therefore, buying it to ...

  1. #1

    HYPERTECH question

    I have a Hypertech programmer for my 2000 Z-28. I changed the gears (A4) to 3.73; therefore, buying it to recalibrate the speedo and make a few other changes. When I sold the car, I didn't put it back to stock (DUH!!!). Is there anyway I can sell it or do I put it out for the garbage pickup??

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    hypertech doesn't like to reflash. a real nice thing to do is send it to the owner of the car now. if you can. other than that, it's garbage pick up time.

  3. #3
    00ls1bird
    Guest
    Are these things any good? I saw one on ebay. What should I pay for one?

  4. #4
    I thought it made a few gains from it, the real gains were from headers/no cats, and switching from 3.23's to 3.73's.
    Last edited by cbusls1; 08-03-2006 at 06:19 AM.

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Junior Member Quicksilver Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    68

    Quicksilver
    2001 Corvette

    The Hypertech programmer has your old Z28's VIN and stock PCM programming in it now,so it can't be used on another car untill that stock program is reinstalled in the first car.If it were me,I would also give it to the new owner.Used Hypertechs that have been VIN cleared,are selling for around $150 on eBay.

  7. #7
    The Bandit Wesman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,033

    SGM
    1998 Trans Am WS6

    I believe Hypertech will reflash the unit for something like $50 if you send it to them. Give them a call or e-mail and see what they say.

  8. #8
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    that's if you can get them to do it. they aren't real keen on reflashing. kinda hurts the new sales department.

  9. #9
    The Bandit Wesman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,033

    SGM
    1998 Trans Am WS6

    Quote Originally Posted by mrr23 View Post
    that's if you can get them to do it. they aren't real keen on reflashing. kinda hurts the new sales department.
    Yea I suppose so, but its a damn expensive programmer to only be able to use it on one car and then have to throw it away. Thats a waste.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    9

    Silver
    2002 Trans Am WS6

    I bought a hypertech programmer for $250 on ebay. I contested the sale when I found it had married another VIN (the ad said it was new) and I couldn't use it. I ended up settling for a $200 refund and kept the unit.

    When I called Hypertech, they said $250 and send the unit back for a replacement. I have seen a link somewhere where it was suggested that you could buy a replacement 'clean' memory chip for ~$20 but I haven't tried yet nor seen posts saying it works. Also most of sites that sell those chips only sell in bulk.

    My car only has headers and a catback and its outgrown the HPP's capabilities anyway (running rich). Its only use now is viewing and clearing codes until I get the VCM suite I ordered today.

    If I were you, with the value of things the way they are, I would up your karma balance by sending the unit to the car purchaser.
    Last edited by Beercan; 08-10-2006 at 06:10 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 160 Thermostat Hypertech question
    By 6speedTAthistime in forum General Help
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 11-26-2007, 07:10 AM
  2. 98 Hypertech Plus Question
    By CWW17 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 02-04-2007, 05:12 PM
  3. Hypertech PowerProgrammer III question...
    By FasstChevys in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-26-2006, 10:53 PM
  4. LT1 hypertech shifting question
    By 97formula in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-22-2006, 09:10 PM
  5. Hypertech Shifting Question
    By dude2race in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-21-2006, 08:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •