Results 1 to 4 of 4

HPTuners and setting monitors?

This is a discussion on HPTuners and setting monitors? within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Last spring I bought my torquer2 cam and springs etc from TSP along with their tune. Ive had problems ever ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Age
    34
    Posts
    3

    HPTuners and setting monitors?

    Last spring I bought my torquer2 cam and springs etc from TSP along with their tune. Ive had problems ever since with the tune and soon I will need to do something about it to pass aircare up here.

    I am throwing 2 codes nearly instantly, one a map code and an EGR code. All they do here is plug in their computer and check to see what codes I've thrown and they check my monitors or something like that. That is according to my mechanic friend. I'm wondering if I can set these monitors to a fixed value to pass aircare with HP Tuners?

    Also the car stalls if I start it form hot or cold with the A/C, idles pretty bad, and apparently puts out a lot of smoke at WOT out the pipes. If I did buy HPTuners would I at least be able to fix those problems if I can't set the monitors?

    thanks guys
    99 SS
    Torquer2 cam
    Pacesetter LT's & ORY
    TSP tune

  2. #2
    Member Bearcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Pasadena Crapifornia
    Age
    54
    Posts
    185

    Machine Silver
    2004 C5Z06 Corvette

    I'll try to help some.

    I haven't had experience with HP-tuners specifically.

    However,
    I've had experience with other tuning suite similar to HP-tuners.

    One thing about LS1s is that they did away with the EGR system in 2001
    because they had a larger cam from the factory, thus allowing for more air
    due to more overlap.

    I know you can raise the idle with HP-tuners. That should help your stalling problem.

    I would suspect that your car is tuned for performance and not emissions
    at this point.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    NY
    Age
    34
    Posts
    193

    yellow
    02 Collector Edition TA

    Yup, you can fix all of that. Basically you delete the disable the codes (i.e., egr code) from turning on. I've deleted several codes on my Buick GSX egr, random missfire at idle etc. By the sounds of it your also running rich, which can also be fixed with a good tune (hptuners)

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Age
    34
    Posts
    3
    Cool, thanks guys.
    When I was talking to my mechanic he said that all that aircare does up here is check for codes and check to make sure the monitors are what GM says they should be at. I just need/want to be 100% sure that if I was to buy something to tune it with myself, that I would be able to set these monitors.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Clearing OBD codes and I/M Monitors (what it all means)
    By TerribleTed in forum General Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-01-2010, 12:19 PM
  2. Monitors
    By binnie2424 in forum General Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-18-2009, 11:45 AM
  3. Completeing System Monitors...Help
    By briguy280z in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-17-2008, 11:52 AM
  4. COD4 on (3) 24" Monitors
    By Ed Blown Vert in forum Computers / Gaming
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 01-23-2008, 11:14 PM
  5. GTR2 On 3 Monitors
    By Ed Blown Vert in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 11-13-2007, 02:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •