Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Red
    1998 Firebird T/A WS6

HP tuners question...

I'm thinking about getting HP Tuners.. BUT i'm kinda newb at tuning.. i'm a computer programmer by day.. so i understand the process ;-)

I guess my bigest concern is I saw that they have pro and standard and that pro lets you attach a wideband directly to the interface. IF you have standard, how do you attach a wideband ?.. Also where is the best placement for a wideband? in one of the rear O2 locations, or drill and weld a new location?

sorry for the newb delux questions......

98 Formula
    06 duramax

get the pro....it's much easier to hook your wideband up with it than the standard version. If you want to log the wideband with standard you have to find another way in such as logging it as the a/c. The pro makes it a piece of cake. The pro also lets you do stand alone data logging where no laptop is needed. That alone is worth the extra money. It's nice to log without having the laptop in the car.
    As far as the wideband you could use your rear O2 locations as long as you don't have the cats in the car. You don't want to put the wideband down stream of your cats if you have 'em. If you still have cats you'll need a new bung welded on before the cats.

2000 Trans Am WS6 LS6
    2006 GTO LS2

Orion said it all. The one thing that helped me tune is the learn@home course. I know its expensive but it goes step by step on how to tune your car. It will teach you the basics and it explains everything very clearly and not the tuner terms. Click on the link and go down to the bottom of the page at Learn-At-Home Experience. It also has 3 examples of the workbook you can download to see how easy it is to use. This course was well worth the $$$ for me.

http://www.thetuningschool.com/classes.html

Red
    1998 Firebird T/A WS6

Awesome thanks guys!

That pretty much summed up my questions.