Results 1 to 13 of 13

HP Tuners Question

This is a discussion on HP Tuners Question within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Hey guys, just out of curiosity how many times can I tune my car with the 8 credits I get ...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SATX
    Posts
    847

    Pewter
    2000 Trans Am

    HP Tuners Question

    Hey guys, just out of curiosity how many times can I tune my car with the 8 credits I get from HP tuners? I am a tuners virgenand I got lost in their site's FAQ;s lol

  2. #2
    Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

    Ed Blown Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    50,746

    Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

    As many times if you want. It only cost 2 credits for one car. I think its 6 credits to tune the same year model.

  3. #3
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Blown Vert View Post
    As many times if you want. It only cost 2 credits for one car. I think its 6 credits to tune the same year model.
    Yep. 2 credits gets you your car for lifetime, 6 credits gets you Year/Make.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SATX
    Posts
    847

    Pewter
    2000 Trans Am

    thank you guys, now I can press the "submit order" button with ease.

  5. #5
    Member cobrakiller99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Michigan
    Age
    28
    Posts
    269

    silver
    1999 Trans am Ws6

    im a little new on tuning, can anybody explain to me what hp tuners actually does?

  6. #6
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6


  7. #7
    Junior Member Dreamnz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    US
    Posts
    22

    Black
    2000 Z28

    Tuner

    If I had a shop do a custom dyno tune, do I have to have it put back to stock before Ican install a full tuner?

  8. #8
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    you're wanting to replace a custom tune with a handheld or something? If so you don't have to put it back to stock.

  9. #9
    Junior Member Dreamnz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    US
    Posts
    22

    Black
    2000 Z28

    I have a custom and it runs to rich, I dont think the guy who did it will tune it down without charging me a fortune. I am hoping that I could re-tune to make it run better.

    I cant get my car to pass emissions, way to rich.

  10. #10
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    you do not need to have a stock file in the PCM to use hptuners. just plug in and read the PCM file and modify from there. this assumes the previous tuner did not lock the PCM.

  11. #11
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    Quote Originally Posted by mrr23 View Post
    you do not need to have a stock file in the PCM to use hptuners. just plug in and read the PCM file and modify from there. this assumes the previous tuner did not lock the PCM.
    Thats one thing I dont understand, Mine was not locked. If it was, what would I had to do?

  12. #12
    TJEA Retirement Home Dr.Crash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    U. S And A Greatest country in all of world
    Posts
    3,383

    Stock
    2002 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by Hi-Po View Post
    Thats one thing I dont understand, Mine was not locked. If it was, what would I had to do?
    i guess you would just have to go back to your tuner and have it unlocked

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pittsburgh,PA
    Posts
    205
    or pay dealer to unlock the file but tht might end up being more hassle then worth

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Idle, HP tuners question
    By furyev in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-23-2008, 01:47 PM
  2. HP tuners question...
    By setzer6127 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 07-26-2008, 11:19 AM
  3. Question on HP tuners..
    By 1BadRamAir00 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 06-16-2008, 07:19 AM
  4. A question for all you tuners about new gears.....
    By T's99BlackLs1 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-23-2006, 04:03 PM
  5. Question for those with hp tuners
    By shady1504 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-25-2005, 06:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •