Page 11 of 18 FirstFirst ... 789101112131415 ... LastLast
Results 201 to 220 of 353
Like Tree1Likes

How to tune?

This is a discussion on How to tune? within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Originally Posted by Hi-Po Why? Would I not want to be able to catch both banks exhaust? Doesnt add to ...

  1. #201
    TJEA Retirement Home Dr.Crash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    U. S And A Greatest country in all of world
    Posts
    3,383

    Stock
    2002 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by Hi-Po View Post
    Why? Would I not want to be able to catch both banks exhaust? Doesnt add to me.
    well of course that would be better. but those kits are like $600-$900. the reason you want it closer is because the further away from the headers it is, the longer it takes for the sensor to get the reading which could then show up in the wrong cell on your chart. this variation may not be vary far off, but the closer it is the better it is for your tune.

  2. #202
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Crash View Post
    well of course that would be better. but those kits are like $600-$900. the reason you want it closer is because the further away from the headers it is, the longer it takes for the sensor to get the reading which could then show up in the wrong cell on your chart. this variation may not be vary far off, but the closer it is the better it is for your tune.
    there's more of a delay there than one would think. I used that sniffer pipe on mine for a while....it sucked.

  3. #203
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Crash View Post
    well of course that would be better. but those kits are like $600-$900. the reason you want it closer is because the further away from the headers it is, the longer it takes for the sensor to get the reading which could then show up in the wrong cell on your chart. this variation may not be vary far off, but the closer it is the better it is for your tune.
    Well, it would be quite a ways away from my header(s) if I placed it in my intermeadite pipe. Heres some pictures,






    It would be a conciderable length away.

  4. #204
    TJEA Retirement Home Dr.Crash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    U. S And A Greatest country in all of world
    Posts
    3,383

    Stock
    2002 Camaro

    [QUOTE=0rion;1848201]there's more of a delay there than one would think. I used that sniffer pipe on mine for a while....it sucked.[/QUOTE


    Ya i wasnt quite sure how far off it would be but i know that it did affect it. Thanks for settin me straight

  5. #205
    TJEA Retirement Home Dr.Crash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    U. S And A Greatest country in all of world
    Posts
    3,383

    Stock
    2002 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by Hi-Po View Post
    Well, it would be quite a ways away from my header(s) if I placed it in my intermeadite pipe. Heres some pictures,

    Click for full size

    Click for full size
    Click for full size

    It would be a conciderable length away.
    hey what kind of headers are those?

  6. #206
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    is that a bung with a plug in it just after the clamp?

  7. #207
    TJEA Retirement Home Dr.Crash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    U. S And A Greatest country in all of world
    Posts
    3,383

    Stock
    2002 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    is that a bung with a plug in it just after the clamp?
    Click for full size
    Hey since my rear 02's have been deleted, couldnt i just put it in their?

  8. #208
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    is that a bung with a plug in it just after the clamp?
    Click for full size
    Yes it is sir!!

  9. #209
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Crash View Post
    hey what kind of headers are those?
    Kooks 1 7/8

  10. #210
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    problem solved.

  11. #211
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Crash View Post
    Hey since my rear 02's have been deleted, couldnt i just put it in their?
    yep

  12. #212
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    and here is the other side.

  13. #213
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    problem solved.
    Damn you.

    I have two. !

  14. #214
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    I want a dual setup god damnit... On just a street car... how big of a difference is only have it on one side????

  15. #215
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    not needed. The banks shouldn't be that far off...if they are you have bigger fish to fry.

  16. #216
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    not needed. The banks shouldn't be that far off...if they are you have bigger fish to fry.
    Alright, Ill take your word for it. Thanks for making me look like a dumbass.

  17. #217
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    LC-1 owners... did you ground your sensor at the PCM?

  18. #218
    cutting and welding mark21742's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mercersburg pa
    Posts
    6,443

    hugger orange
    2004

    Quote Originally Posted by Hi-Po View Post
    LC-1 owners... did you ground your sensor at the PCM?
    I ground mine to the floor under the dash. just cleanedup a dash brace mount below the radio and used it for the lc-1, gauge, and hptuner refenece ground .
    I'm not saying it was the right way to do it, but it worked for me

  19. #219
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    I run the LM-1 in my car currently and it's been in there for over a year....so it's been semi-permanent.
    You mean to tell me you have that huge LM1 wide band just laying around inside the car???

    I don't know how you do it. I remove mine after I'm done tuning for the day. Otherwise that thing would be flopping around all over the place while I'm driving

    Shucks the last time I fired up my dads car without warming up that sensor it turned pitch black and I thought I had ruined it. It was slow to react for quite a while until it cleaned itself off with a few high gear high rpm blasts down the road.
    I've warmed it up ever since before I hit the key and it stays much cleaner now.
    Last edited by Firebirdjones; 03-10-2009 at 07:16 AM.

  20. #220
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by Hi-Po View Post
    and here is the other side. Click for full size
    Those would be great for a perminant mount wide band since they are on the inside.
    Hard to get to though for someone like me that takes it in and out all the time. So I welded my bungs on the outside of the pipe.

    As far as having a pair of them,,,Orion is right. You don't really need it. Once you have it dialed in using one side it's usually good to go.
    The only time I've seen some variances is on the older stuff with a carb,,,especially big block chevys that have a history of mixture problems and a couple of cylinders running leaner than the others.
    For that I do use the wideband on both sides and tend to stagger jet the carb to compensate.

    I'm not sure (if at all) if the LS1 even has these problems. Haven't heard of any and I never hooked the wideband up to the other side either. I'm willing to bet with the intake and cylinder head design mixture problems are non existent.

    To give you an idea on the sensor mounting position. I use the wideband on my 70 formula up close to the header collector. One year I stuck the car on a chassis dyno and they used a sensor that stuck in the tailpipe. The difference was .4 in AFR leaner.
    That could have been the differences in sensors or it could have been the difference of where it was used. In any case I keep my bungs up as close to the headers as possible for what I think is a more accurate reading.

Page 11 of 18 FirstFirst ... 789101112131415 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Custom tune, HP tuners, or PCMFORLESS TUNE
    By cancam99ss in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-29-2012, 10:09 PM
  2. Question: Frost tune or Dyno tune?
    By 90ARAPAJ in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-15-2012, 01:38 PM
  3. hypertech tune erase my dyno tune?
    By Z28LS1 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-02-2009, 07:31 PM
  4. whats the diff with a full dyno tune and a street tune?
    By Justin23454 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-04-2007, 07:31 AM
  5. Handheld Tune?shop Tune? software running on my laptop tune?on my SS
    By showtimesteele99SS in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-2007, 06:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •