Getting Tuned Tuesday

This is a discussion on Getting Tuned Tuesday within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I had some work done to my car a few years ago. I've got a cam (no specs) and heads ...

Black
    99 Z28

Getting Tuned Tuesday

I had some work done to my car a few years ago. I've got a cam (no specs) and heads were ported (no specs).

I have an e-85 station right by my house and I'm thinking of having them tune it for e-85.

This is my first time ever having the car at at dyno and also my first time having it tuned well.

The shop that did the other work gave a lousy tune and I haven't really been all that thrilled about spending more money on it.

Anything I should know or ask or be prepared for in this?

I'm getting charged $425 for this and it's going to be done with HP Tuner.

hugger orange

stay away from the e-85 our fuel systems are not compatible ( lines, seals, fuel rail) there are some older threads in here somwhere that talk about it.
    I called GM myself when I was thinkikg about it and they said no, and running e-85 in a non compatible vehical will even void any waranty

Black
    99 Z28

warranty? it's 91,000 miles

That's over and done with.

wouldn't the tune itself void most of the drive train warranty anyway?

hugger orange

Quote Originally Posted by DrMilhouse View Post

lol thats the nice thing about having your own tuner....detune the night before you take the car to get serviced.

but like I said, i would stay away from the e85 with our cars...atleast till they get a good cheap retrofit

LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

they won't know it's there unless you *tell* them

Black
    99 Z28

the results are in....

I did e-85 love it or hate it, that's what I did.

It runs awesome.

In the mile high city, I'm at 324 tq and 340 hp and it runs better than it ever has.

hugger orange

the results are in....

It runs awesome.