Results 1 to 8 of 8

Do I need a crank sensor relearn?

This is a discussion on Do I need a crank sensor relearn? within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I just COMPLETELY rebuilt my motor. New crank, cam, rods, pistons, etc...I am awaiting a tune because it stalls. Anyways. ...

  1. #1
    Gearhead TransAmcoupe98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Tampa
    Age
    29
    Posts
    68

    gold
    1998 Trans Am Formula

    Do I need a crank sensor relearn?

    I just COMPLETELY rebuilt my motor. New crank, cam, rods, pistons, etc...I am awaiting a tune because it stalls. Anyways. A dealer said I will need A crank sensor relearn since I pulled the motor or it will throw misfire codes. Is this true?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,725
    Thinking that's correct - is the car throwing codes? Could throw random misfire or a CKP code.

  3. #3
    Gearhead TransAmcoupe98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Tampa
    Age
    29
    Posts
    68

    gold
    1998 Trans Am Formula

    It hasn't ran long enough to get a good read on it. Mind you I dont have a dialed in tune yet so I have to get it tuned before it will idle on its own because of the after market cam

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,725
    P1336 should throw right away. www.gearchatter.com/viewtopic8668.php

  5. #5
    Junior Member sreve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    St. Louis Area
    Posts
    38

    Black
    '02 B4C Camaro

    if it doesnt dont worry be happy

  6. #6
    Gearhead TransAmcoupe98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Tampa
    Age
    29
    Posts
    68

    gold
    1998 Trans Am Formula

    Just got a basic tune, I read on the website you just gave me hat if the pcm has been reprogrammed(tuned), you dont need a crank relearn...True?

  7. #7
    Junior Member edcmat-l1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by 2001NBMZ28 View Post
    P1336 should throw right away.
    ^^^What he said......

  8. #8
    Junior Member edcmat-l1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by TransAmcoupe98 View Post
    Just got a basic tune, I read on the website you just gave me hat if the pcm has been reprogrammed(tuned), you dont need a crank relearn...True?
    Alot of people/tuners turn that code off. Does not interfere with the performance of the vehicle what so ever.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. p1336 code - crank relearn condition
    By 1MileCrash in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-02-2013, 06:41 PM
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-31-2012, 04:17 AM
  3. access to Crank sensor
    By dogboy in forum Corvette
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 10:30 AM
  4. Help: crank sensor?
    By jp1967 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-17-2009, 11:14 AM
  5. crank position sensor
    By tbias in forum General Help
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 12-26-2008, 10:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •