Results 1 to 13 of 13

Diablo

This is a discussion on Diablo within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Okay guys please bear with me. I got a Diablo Predator mainly to reprogram the cooling fans after a thermo ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    95

    2001 CAMARO SS / Black
    2009 COLORADO V8/dk gray

    Diablo

    Okay guys please bear with me. I got a Diablo Predator mainly to reprogram the cooling fans after a thermo change. The instruction are a bit sparse. There's a diagnostic section but it doesn't say if and when to start engine. I presume the engine must be running to run diagnostics , but when? I would hate to do it wrong and fry something. Anyone out there with a Predator who can HELP me? Would really appreciate it! Thanks!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    I have a Hypertech that came with our car -- it reads codes while the engine is off and the key is in the "run" position.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    95

    2001 CAMARO SS / Black
    2009 COLORADO V8/dk gray

    pajeff02, thanks for the info, but i was thinking more on the line of checking my running coolant temp, since everyone is telling my NOT to put too much faith in the oem gauge.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    I have a screen button on mine that pulls up the gauges. It has all sorts of display options. I took a look at the support page on their site and didn't see anything really helpful. Here it is: https://www.diablosport.com/index.ph...isplay&pid=187

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    95

    2001 CAMARO SS / Black
    2009 COLORADO V8/dk gray

    Just got back from site u suggested. Found a forum section and posted my question. Waiting for reply. Thanks jeff

  6. #6
    Member derekbuckner1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    451

    LPM
    2000 Z28

    Used to have a predator tuner myself. You can run the car with the tuner plugged in the obd2 port and use it to get live data, including temp. Won't fry anything lol.

    LS6 Intake, LS6 VCT, E^2 Catch Can, Hooker LTs and ORY, Magnaflow Cat-Back, 3" QTP electric cutout, UMI adj LCA, PHB, 3 pt SFCs, STB, MGW Shifter, SLP lid and bellow, Free-Mods, Tuned by BlueCat


  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    I agree that checking coolant temp with a scanner or utilizing an aftermarket gauge is the way to go. Other than in '98 models, the factory temp gauges are just about worthless imo.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    95

    2001 CAMARO SS / Black
    2009 COLORADO V8/dk gray

    Thanks derek, but do I start the engine after I get to the diagnostic section or does it make a difference?

  9. #9
    Member derekbuckner1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    451

    LPM
    2000 Z28

    If you set it up before you start the car, when the car cuts power to start the engine, it will reset the programmer. Plug it in after it's running.

  10. #10
    Member derekbuckner1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    451

    LPM
    2000 Z28

    And by reset the programmer, I just mean that it will power cycle. No harm done.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    95

    2001 CAMARO SS / Black
    2009 COLORADO V8/dk gray

    thanks derek & jeff. really appreciate the help.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    st marys
    Posts
    2
    Pajeff02 did you have a problem with your Ecuador kicking a p0010 code? I did and I am taking it back hupertech doesn't make a patch or anything for it

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    "P0010" is a camshaft position sensor circuit malfunction. Shouldn't be related to anything with the programmer that I am aware of.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. diablo III
    By Spaz in forum Computers / Gaming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-17-2012, 02:19 PM
  2. diablo ??
    By itsfess in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-18-2008, 06:02 PM
  3. On The Diablo
    By ledesma54 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-08-2008, 07:23 AM
  4. on the diablo
    By ledesma54 in forum Texas Members
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-06-2008, 06:20 PM
  5. Need help with my Diablo (please help)
    By ledesma54 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-26-2008, 06:28 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •