Results 1 to 15 of 15

Chevy dealer screwed me, now I need a tune in SE Missouri

This is a discussion on Chevy dealer screwed me, now I need a tune in SE Missouri within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; So I took my car to Coad Chevrolet in Cape Girardeau Missouri to have them look at my MAP sensor ...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Columbia, MO
    Posts
    111

    Medium Blue Metallic
    1999 Pontiac Trans Am

    Chevy dealer screwed me, now I need a tune in SE Missouri

    So I took my car to Coad Chevrolet in Cape Girardeau Missouri to have them look at my MAP sensor reading low. Well they said I had water intrusion in the PCM and the MAP sensor was full of oil. They replaced both but didn't mention that they did not have the equipment to extract tunes off the old pcm and put them on the new one. So they reflashed the new pcm with a stock tune. My car has a decent cam. Needless to say it now doesn't run hardly at all at lower rpms. And the old pcm went off as a core return before they informed me about this. Basically, now I need someone to come tune me up in Cape Girardeau, Missouri, 2 hours south of STL. Anyone have any recommendations?

  2. #2
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    they burned you on the PCM, it obviously worked assuming you drove the car to them

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Columbia, MO
    Posts
    111

    Medium Blue Metallic
    1999 Pontiac Trans Am

    Yea seriously. I actually drove it 1500 miles home (from California) a couple months ago, and drove it to them just fine. Now I have to keep it all revved up just to get it home.

  4. #4
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    I'd want the old PCM back... like I said, if you drove it to them it was clearly working when it arrived at their shop.

  5. #5
    Junior Member edcmat-l1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by Frost View Post
    I'd want the old PCM back... like I said, if you drove it to them it was clearly working when it arrived at their shop.
    Yeah it was. Thats almost criminal.
    You could prolly mail your pcm to the person that tuned it, and have them load your tune. I'm sure they kept a copy of it. Or they should have, anyway.

  6. #6
    Member Sunset T/A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Spring, TX
    Age
    66
    Posts
    285

    Sunset Orange
    2002 TransAm

    When you have your car tuned, they will load a copy on a cd if you take them one.

  7. #7
    Junior Member edcmat-l1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by sunsetta View Post
    When you have your car tuned, they will load a copy on a cd if you take them one.
    You still need someone to reflash it. unless you have the software.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,725
    Dealers are only going to flash a stock tune - if you had a custom tune it's gone. Always return to stock tune before visiting the dealer.

  9. #9
    LoudMouth SStriker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Westminster/Sykesville, Maryland
    Age
    28
    Posts
    512

    Red
    2000 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by 2001NBMZ28 View Post
    Dealers are only going to flash a stock tune - if you had a custom tune it's gone. Always return to stock tune before visiting the dealer.
    Doesnt matter if he had returned it to stock or not, they completely replaced the PCM. And he would have major issues taking to the dealer with a stock tune since it doesnt run right on a stock tune now.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Columbia, MO
    Posts
    111

    Medium Blue Metallic
    1999 Pontiac Trans Am

    Does anyone have enough experience to tell me approximately what specs my cam might have if it wont run right on a stock tune?

  11. #11
    Junior Member edcmat-l1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by 99bluebird View Post
    Does anyone have enough experience to tell me approximately what specs my cam might have if it wont run right on a stock tune?
    Yeah, right buddy. That aint experience, thats a crystal ball. most tuners can tune just based on manifold vacuum, and fuel trims, but nobody, I mean NOBODY can tell you what the cam specs are, just based on "it wont run on a stock tune". They need a head shaking smiley for ones like these.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Columbia, MO
    Posts
    111

    Medium Blue Metallic
    1999 Pontiac Trans Am

    Yea I guess I was just getting hopefull. I've heard of people adding mild cams and the car at least running on their original tune, so I was hoping there would be some telltale sign, such as maybe increased intake duration since it runs so lean at low rpm it-doesn't. I just hope I can find a tuner soon since I don't have the software. And its not really driveable too far. Maybe St. Louis or Memphis but thats about as far as I would be comfortable...

  13. #13
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    damn, I just got home from Cape yesterday. I could've brought my cable with me and at least got you running. I would recommend hitting the hptuner board and trying to find someone semi-local to you to get it tuned. Who tuned it the first time? Like was mentioned above they most likely have your tune still and could just reflash it for you.....for a small fee I'm sure.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Columbia, MO
    Posts
    111

    Medium Blue Metallic
    1999 Pontiac Trans Am

    Yea possible but they are in California. You won't be back anytime soon will you?

  15. #15
    Junior Member sreve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    St. Louis Area
    Posts
    38

    Black
    '02 B4C Camaro

    get them to email you the tune, i can flash it in either the car or just the pcm.
    we can start over but if it ran right before your old tune is the easiest.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 2012 Chevy Camaro ZL1 wrecked by Delaware dealer while in fo
    By Ed Blown Vert in forum General Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-10-2014, 05:20 PM
  2. Chevy to limit SS sport sedan dealer allocations
    By Ed Blown Vert in forum General Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-10-2013, 01:08 AM
  3. Question: Where to get a Tune in Mid Missouri area!!!
    By Last of the Breed in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-15-2010, 07:18 PM
  4. Louisville Chevy Dealer?
    By imflyn in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-17-2007, 05:19 PM
  5. Warning< Rippoff Dealer In Bethany Missouri
    By mvvette97 in forum Member Feedback
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-03-2005, 06:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •