Results 1 to 12 of 12

Can you tune a 97 LS1?

This is a discussion on Can you tune a 97 LS1? within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; All of the posts and ads I see for tuning say 98 - 02. Can you tune a 97? George...

  1. #1
    Junior Member geoholt3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Lakewood Colorado
    Age
    58
    Posts
    30

    Red
    97 WS6 Ram Air T/A Conv

    Can you tune a 97 LS1?

    All of the posts and ads I see for tuning say 98 - 02.

    Can you tune a 97?

    George

  2. #2
    Senior Member bills98ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Thomas, PA
    Posts
    5,047

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by geoholt3 View Post
    All of the posts and ads I see for tuning say 98 - 02.

    Can you tune a 97?

    George
    It should be the same as a 98 ecm... They split the year with the 97's...

  3. #3
    Senior Member 00z28bubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    las vegas, nv
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,390

    white
    2000 Z28

    Quote Originally Posted by bills98ta View Post
    It should be the same as a 98 ecm... They split the year with the 97's...
    assuming he swapped an ls1 into his lt1 car. the lt1 ecm shouldnt have been usable so he should still have the original ecm that was with the ls1 or an aftermarket. but they are tunable. i say this assuming the car listed in op's profile is the car in question. i dont know the whether the op swapped an ls1 in his car or plans on doing the swap.

  4. #4
    Senior Member bills98ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Thomas, PA
    Posts
    5,047

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    The late 97's did come with the LS1. But, if it was a swap, who knows what year the ecm is... You'd have to know that for a handheld, but if he goes with HP Tuners, it won't matter.

  5. #5
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    97 f-bodies still had the LT1, you just need to look for different tuning software for those motors.

  6. #6
    COTM July '09
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Annapolis, MD
    Posts
    1,111

    BLK/BLK w/CGM Stripes
    2010 Camaro 2SS/M6

    ummm '97 Corvette people!

  7. #7
    Senior Member 00z28bubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    las vegas, nv
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,390

    white
    2000 Z28

    Quote Originally Posted by That Guy 2-1 View Post
    ummm '97 Corvette people!
    yes but the 97 f-body had the lt1 for the most part. ive never heard of a 97 f-body with an ls1 from the factory. there may have been but i never paid attention to the pre98 models. the vette only fits this conversation as a donor car. nothing more than that.

  8. #8
    COTM July '09
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Annapolis, MD
    Posts
    1,111

    BLK/BLK w/CGM Stripes
    2010 Camaro 2SS/M6

    Quote Originally Posted by 00z28bubba View Post
    yes but the 97 f-body had the lt1 for the most part. ive never heard of a 97 f-body with an ls1 from the factory. there may have been but i never paid attention to the pre98 models. the vette only fits this conversation as a donor car. nothing more than that.
    No ls1 for camaro until '98 and catfish front end

  9. #9
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by That Guy 2-1 View Post
    ummm '97 Corvette people!
    The original poster doesn't have a vette, he has a ws6. It does not have an LS1.

  10. #10
    Member 98Hardtop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Richmond Va
    Posts
    180

    black
    1998 Camaro Z/28

    If he did a swap and put in a LS1 to replace his LT1 couldn't he use the ecm from a 97 Vette as it had a LS1?

  11. #11
    Senior Member 00z28bubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    las vegas, nv
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,390

    white
    2000 Z28

    Quote Originally Posted by Frost View Post
    The original poster doesn't have a vette, he has a ws6. It does not have an LS1.
    from the first post i assumed he was confused also but he never confirmed if he swapped or is just misinformed.

  12. #12
    Junior Member geoholt3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Lakewood Colorado
    Age
    58
    Posts
    30

    Red
    97 WS6 Ram Air T/A Conv

    Quote Originally Posted by Frost View Post
    The original poster doesn't have a vette, he has a ws6. It does not have an LS1.
    That is correct. I've been so overworked lately that I started calling it an LS1and didn't even realize I was doing it. I even found this great website in my tired state and it still didn't hit me.

    Sorry guys. One the plus side, I got a great breakdown of all my options and all the work done on the car since it was built from this website so thanks for that! You guys rock!

    George
    I usually gets what I wants...you got a problem with dat?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Custom tune, HP tuners, or PCMFORLESS TUNE
    By cancam99ss in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-29-2012, 10:09 PM
  2. Question: Frost tune or Dyno tune?
    By 90ARAPAJ in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-15-2012, 01:38 PM
  3. hypertech tune erase my dyno tune?
    By Z28LS1 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-02-2009, 07:31 PM
  4. whats the diff with a full dyno tune and a street tune?
    By Justin23454 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-04-2007, 07:31 AM
  5. Handheld Tune?shop Tune? software running on my laptop tune?on my SS
    By showtimesteele99SS in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-2007, 06:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •