Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Ticket Red
    M6 1998 Z-28

Best tuning option??

Hey guys,
    I need to get my 98 Z tuned... I seem to be running rich for what i can tell.

I am new to the tuning section...
    Should I go with something like EFI live and try to tune it myself or take it to someone to tune or send my PCM out to be flashed?
    What are the pros and cons of my options?

Thanks.

98 Ticket Red Z28
    Mods:
    Front/rear sway bars, poly bushings all around, Bilstein Shocks, Centerforce Dual Friction Clutch, Pacesetter LT's, 2.5" Custom True Duals over the axle with Magnaflow mufflers, Shortened Pro 5.0 shifter, TurnOne PS pump.

98 Formula
    06 duramax

any of those options would work for you really...it just depends on what route would work for you best. I would recommend hptuners if you were going to buy your own suite though. At $125 it's hard to beat a mail order tune from Frost and he'd be able to hook you up pretty nicely.

Where at in central OH? I'm out in Lancaster.

Ticket Red
    M6 1998 Z-28

Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    any of those options would work for you really...it just depends on what route would work for you best. I would recommend hptuners if you were going to buy your own suite though. At $125 it's hard to beat a mail order tune from Frost and he'd be able to hook you up pretty nicely.

Where at in central OH? I'm out in Lancaster.

I am in Powell, northwest Columbus.

What is the how difficult is the HPtuners to learn and setup yourself?

98 Formula
    06 duramax

Quote Originally Posted by raysz28 View Post
    I am in Powell, northwest Columbus.

there's definitely a learning curve there but as long as you have some computer knowledge, car knowledge, and are willing to spend the time reading it can be done. There's so much info on the boards that it takes a lot of reading to weed through it all. It would also be a good idea to buy a wideband too.

1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71