View Poll Results: Which Wideband O2

Voters
18. You may not vote on this poll
  • PLX SM-AFR

    3 16.67%
  • Autometer Nexus

    1 5.56%
  • LC-1

    9 50.00%
  • LM-1

    3 16.67%
  • AEM

    2 11.11%
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Adding Wideband to HPTuners

This is a discussion on Adding Wideband to HPTuners within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I am brand spanking new to tuning. I just got HPTuners, because I needed to tune for a cam/springs install ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member dougcw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Age
    36
    Posts
    58

    Silver
    2002 Trans AM WS6

    Adding Wideband to HPTuners

    I am brand spanking new to tuning. I just got HPTuners, because I needed to tune for a cam/springs install that I paid for yesterday(specs in signature). I have been reading posts on Wideband O2 and have a couple of questions. Which one should I get? If I put up links/or attach files of my current tune can you help me get it right (idle is seeking)? I would like to get the Nexus gauge so that all of mine match, but I don't think they are the same quality of the PLX?

    Last edited by dougcw; 12-09-2006 at 07:51 PM.
    Mods: FAST 90mm, Nick Williams 90mm TB, TR 230/224 .581/.567 111 LSA, CC 921 springs, Hooker LTs, Hooker ORY, SLP Loudmouth, Eibach Pro Kit, Billstein HD, Baer Eradispeed, Whisper Lid, BMR SFCs, BMR Adj. LCAs, BMR reloc. brackets, HPTuners. 418HP/390ft-lbs rearwheel on a DynoJet.

  2. #2
    Mrs.'s Boobies
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    North Hollywood, Ca
    Age
    44
    Posts
    197

    Onyx Black
    2001 Camaro SS

    I voted for the AEM, as it is one of THE most portable and easy to install widebands available. It comes with a guage, that is the controller as well, and only has four wires to worry about to start tuning. I have used the DynoJet Commander, Innovative's LM-1, and now use exclusively the AEM wideband.
    George P. Lara
    Mine 2001 Camaro SS #0391: FQuick Garage
    Mrs.'s 2002 Camaro SS #7072: FQuick Garage

  3. #3
    Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

    Ed Blown Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    50,746

    Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

    I have been happy with my LC-1
    Black 1999 Blown Convertible A4
    Forged 383, ATI D-1SC
    NX MAF Kit | 222/226 .585 115
    AS Stage II 6.0L FI Heads
    Moser 9" | 3.70 | Wavetrac | 35 Spline | Vigilante 3600
    548.0 RWHP - 563.8 RWTQ - 10# - D1

    666.0 RWHP - 734.2 RWTQ - 125 Shot - P1

    Black 2009 Escalade Hybrid 4WD
    Black 2008 GMC Yukon Hybrid 4WD (Totaled)

    Black 2013 Chevy Volt (Gone)

  4. #4
    Junior Member Todd157k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    So. Cal.
    Posts
    13

    Mag Red
    2000 Vette

    HPt standard or Pro?

    If pro, go to the HPtuner sight. They can suggest a couple of ones they all use.

  5. #5
    BOSSONNOS
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    AUSTRALIA
    Age
    44
    Posts
    41

    Turismo Blue
    2005 Holden 502rwhp

    I got the Dynojet wideband with my HPT and it's great and easy to wire up.

  6. #6
    Token V6 Guy
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Trenton/NJ/US
    Age
    41
    Posts
    336

    Silver
    2000 Grand Prix GTP

    LM-1 here...simple & effective.
    Support for HPTuners

  7. #7
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    LM-1 here also. I bought that one so I could swap it back and forth between my car and my buddies c-5.
    Am I missing something or shouldn't your lifts be .575/.563? My buddy has that same cam in his c-5. I use edit or I would let you look at his tune. His setup is different than yours though. He has home ported heads with stock TB and LS6 intake and has an a4.

    I just noticed this original post was from december. Duh. So how did the tune come out?

  8. #8
    BOSSONNOS
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    AUSTRALIA
    Age
    44
    Posts
    41

    Turismo Blue
    2005 Holden 502rwhp

    HPT pro here and Dynojet wide band, wouldn't leave home without it.

  9. #9
    Junior Member dougcw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Age
    36
    Posts
    58

    Silver
    2002 Trans AM WS6

    I got 418 rwhp and 390 ft-lbs on the dyno. I'm interested in self tuning some of the little bugs out that you can never see on the dyno or show the tuner, unless he goes for a ride in the passenger's seat for a long stent. LM-1 I hear is better than LC-1? Any thoughts?

  10. #10
    Jesus died to save you! Killer_bluebird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    North Olmsted, OH
    Age
    43
    Posts
    508

    Navy Blue Metallic
    2000 Camaro Z28

    Quote Originally Posted by dougcw View Post
    LM-1 I hear is better than LC-1? Any thoughts?
    The LM-1 uses the same chip and wideband as the LC-1. So the real difference between the too is that the LM-1 has a built in gauge and is designed to be portable (easy to install from car to car). The LC-1 is designed to be permanently mounted on the car, if you want a gauge you can attach a standard A/F gauge that accepts a linear voltage usually 0-5v or somewhere in between You can program the LC-1 to provide the correct output to match your gauge. The second output you can wire for input to HpTuners.

    Some people have been having good results with the PLX too.

    Do you have the enhanced interface? This will determine too which way to go as you will have to upgrade your interface to connect the wb directly to it to log AFR directly into HPTuners. If not you can either upgrade the interface (for aprox. $150+shipping) or set it up so you can log through your pcm.

    I have an LC-1 because it was cheap and I was not afraid of a little wiring. It cost me 179.90 shipped. I used an old rear o2 sensor harness and was able to use my rear o2 sensor to get power, grounds and the signal to the PCM so I can log using Hp-tuners. Note I do not have the Pro interface (heck I still have the serial interface) so I had to use a signal going into my PCM to be able to log the AFR in HPTuners. With my setup I can use either the rear O2 signal (0-1v) or a wire to the AC Presure sensor (0-5v). I've been using the rear o2 because of the ease of install and uninstall. It takes me literally 5 mins. (including time to jack the car up) to remove or plug mine in.

    If you are not comfortable wiring a set up yourself stay with something like the LM-1.

    If you have any questions about my set up PM and I can give you more details.

    Good Luck!

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    25

    Another Black
    02 Z28

    tuning with 2 LC1's I hard wired them in to replace the precat O2's and got the moates O meters to mount in the dash. Have it rigged to plug into my Flashscan module. It was hard to beat the 240 price tag for LC1 and the digital readout from Moates. I think they're still offering the package deal.
    The incredible X

  12. #12
    Junior Member dougcw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Age
    36
    Posts
    58

    Silver
    2002 Trans AM WS6

    Just got my LC-1 with XD-16 kit! I'm going to install it this weekend and see where I am sitting. I am going to install just 1 sensor just behind where the y pipe merges into the exhaust.

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Edmonton
    Age
    46
    Posts
    68

    Black
    01 ws6

    Hi I am just getting interested in geting a wideband as well. Where is the best place to mount? I wonder if you can monitor both sides at once? Where is the best place to get info on this stuff?

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    25

    Another Black
    02 Z28

    I assume that you have some sort of tuning software if you are asking this question as there is NO OTHER purpose for having a wideband. It's just a waste of money. As far as which is better it's for you to decide. If you want a permanent install it's hard to beat the price of Innovates LC1, when you can get 2 of them for the price of one of just about any others(even the other one from Innovate), and is still programmable. Whether you want data logging or other features you have to decide for yourself. Heres a few manufacturers for you.

    FAST- makes a dual sensor one but is pricey
    Innovate Motorsports- Makes the LC1 and the LM1
    AEM
    PLX devices
    Autometer
    DynoJet

    There's other but that's all I can think of at the moment. Go to their sites read the info decide what you want to use it for and compare. Then once you pick one out, shop around for the lowest price.

  15. #15
    Junior Member MNR-0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Age
    48
    Posts
    80

    BLACK
    2004 Monaro

    I use the Daytona Sensors WB. You can pick them up for around $350. Many options like LED readout, free-air calibration and 2 additional analog inputs.

    They are heavily into motor bikes but make an automotive version. Motor bikes is where a lot of the R&D is.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. HPTuners Pro
    By 99bta6 in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-18-2010, 04:16 PM
  2. Question: Anyone use NTK AFX wideband w/HPTuners?
    By rel3rd in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-26-2009, 10:57 PM
  3. Wanted: 99' Hptuners
    By Mark8fish in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-17-2008, 11:19 AM
  4. HPtuners .BIN file
    By TTA_AWD in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-01-2007, 12:09 AM
  5. i got hptuners
    By mrr23 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-01-2006, 02:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •