Results 1 to 11 of 11

Why swap stall when swapping cam?

This is a discussion on Why swap stall when swapping cam? within the Drivetrain forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Ok, I have noticed in a couple of cam swap threads people stating you need a different stall for an ...

  1. #1
    Senior Member kool-aide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Deltona, FL
    Age
    42
    Posts
    1,220

    Sebring Silver Metalic
    2002 Camaro Z28

    Why swap stall when swapping cam?

    Ok, I have noticed in a couple of cam swap threads people stating you need a different stall for an auto on a cam swap. What am I missing here? Doesn't the stall converter just act like a disengaged clutch so the engine can spin and the trans sits relatively still with little break pressure?

    Is every one saying you need a new stall because you may begin idling higher? I guess I just don't see the connection between a higher stall and a bigger cam. Would a bigger cam really idle so high that the stock unit won't do?

    I'm not very familiar with autos and why you would go w/ a higher stall for any reason.

    thanks

    kool-aide

  2. #2
    Senior Member bills98ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Thomas, PA
    Posts
    5,047

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    It's not really a higher idle, but the cam loping at the idle means that it has no power at idle causing it to stall when you put it in gear. A higher stall will slip to let the cam take hold at a higher rpm. ( something like that !!! )

  3. #3
    Senior Member kool-aide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Deltona, FL
    Age
    42
    Posts
    1,220

    Sebring Silver Metalic
    2002 Camaro Z28

    hmm....ok so no its time for the really dumb question. Are stall and torque converter synonymous terms?

  4. #4
    Senior Member kool-aide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Deltona, FL
    Age
    42
    Posts
    1,220

    Sebring Silver Metalic
    2002 Camaro Z28

    Quote Originally Posted by bills98ta View Post
    It's not really a higher idle, but the cam loping at the idle means that it has no power at idle causing it to stall when you put it in gear. A higher stall will slip to let the cam take hold at a higher rpm. ( something like that !!! )
    is that kind of like getting a stall that matches the power band of the cam?

    it just seems so weird i guess, to say your enigine won't mate up with the trans until a high RPM. I would think you would always want a lower stall vs higher.

    I guess maybe if i think about it and the fact it is a rotating assembly of things then maybe it makes sense. it doesn't come alive until it is rotating at a good speed.

  5. #5
    Senior Member bills98ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Thomas, PA
    Posts
    5,047

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by kool-aide View Post
    hmm....ok so no its time for the really dumb question. Are stall and torque converter synonymous terms?
    Uhhmmm.... The stall is the rating of the torque convertor. If you want a good street convertor, stay around 2800 to 3600... I'm on the track more than the street, so I now run a 4600 stall convertor. Then you also want it rated as a locker, so it will still lock in at lower rpm's while cruising !!!
    Hope this helps !!!

  6. #6
    Senior Member bills98ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Thomas, PA
    Posts
    5,047

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    My cam is rated at 3000 - 7200 rpm, so I need a higher stall speed. At 2200 rpm, my car will start bucking, untill I hit a lower gear...

  7. #7
    Senior Member kool-aide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Deltona, FL
    Age
    42
    Posts
    1,220

    Sebring Silver Metalic
    2002 Camaro Z28

    Quote Originally Posted by bills98ta View Post
    Uhhmmm.... The stall is the rating of the torque convertor. If you want a good street convertor, stay around 2800 to 3600... I'm on the track more than the street, so I now run a 4600 stall convertor. Then you also want it rated as a locker, so it will still lock in at lower rpm's while cruising !!!
    Hope this helps !!!
    right when you say rating, are you refering to the RPM at which the two don't fully mate up or lock together? Doesn't stall refer to the RPM range at which the converter will just spin the fluid and not engage the trans mission, well not fully?

    too bad we couldn't break out the crayons for this kindergardner and draw some pictures.

    thanks

  8. #8
    Senior Member bills98ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Thomas, PA
    Posts
    5,047

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    Yea, you're gettin it !!! I think the stock stall rating is around 1600 rpm. So, while idling in gear, it's slipping. Don't know about the crayons, but I'm one of those who talk with their hands !!! LOL !!!

  9. #9
    Senior Member kool-aide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Deltona, FL
    Age
    42
    Posts
    1,220

    Sebring Silver Metalic
    2002 Camaro Z28

    lol...thanks.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Attalla, AL
    Posts
    43
    Yes, the "stall speed" is the speed at which the turbine (output) of the converter begins turning at (roughly) the same speed as the engine (input). I say roughly because there is always a small percentage of slippage. The better the converter, the less slippage. Now with a lockup converter, there is a clutch inside that locks up under cruise to ensure that there is no slippage.

  11. #11
    Senior Member kool-aide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Deltona, FL
    Age
    42
    Posts
    1,220

    Sebring Silver Metalic
    2002 Camaro Z28

    thanks. that's how i was trying to interpret the how things work web site, or how stuff works, whatever.

    I never liked Auto Trans. I guess maybe because I have a tough time visualizing all of the parts, lol...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help: Swapping from 5.3 to ls1
    By Jfry15 in forum General Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-09-2016, 04:14 AM
  2. Question: LS1 , swapping
    By Butch2000 in forum General Help
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-24-2010, 09:18 PM
  3. Help: Swapping an LT1 for an LS1
    By LS194Z28 in forum Camaro / SS
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-23-2009, 08:02 PM
  4. SWAPPING LS-2 with LS-1
    By dvdslw in forum Internal Engine
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-17-2007, 07:00 PM
  5. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-02-2007, 02:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •