Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Why Moser?

This is a discussion on Why Moser? within the Drivetrain forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Build your car for the intended end result. It will be cheaper in the long run. If you will end ...

2000 Camaro

Build your car for the intended end result. It will be cheaper in the long run. If you will end the modding at 500hp then go with a nice 12 bolt. If you may want to hang with the big dogs and go for 1000+ then get a well built 9" with a spool. Lockers are nice but will still break.

Blue 1997 Trans Am(Sold)
    Pewter 2001 Trans Am Vert

well money isn't really an issue if it means I have to wait a bit longer to get the better rear end I'll wait longer simple as that.
    I have a few questions regarding the previous posts. You seem to all agree that Strange makes the better housing... housing for what just the 3rd member or everything?
    I'm really new at this sorry, but for now you'll have to put up with me could someone tell me what to look for or just give me a picture of the torque arm?
    How much horsepower loss can you expect from a 12 bolt as oppose to a 9" if we're talking 10 hp over 500hp thats pretty minimal for having a stronger (perhaps quieter) rear end...
    Also I was thinking of loading up my car with BMR parts for the suspension lower control arms, torque arms and what have you will there be mounting problems with any aftermarket rearends... or can I get them now and put them on my stock 10 bolt and then take them off and put them back together with an aftermarket one in place? no difference?
    Again I'm new at this and I understand things better when I see them so if you guys can scrounge up pictures that would be GREATLY appreciated thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by Bouvs View Post
    well money isn't really an issue if it means I have to wait a bit longer to get the better rear end I'll wait longer simple as that.