Results 1 to 8 of 8

torque convertor questions.do i really have a stall?

This is a discussion on torque convertor questions.do i really have a stall? within the Drivetrain forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; ok.just bought another ws6 its a 2000.here is a list of mods. ls6 intake z06 fuel injectors aftermarket cam unknown ...

  1. #1
    Member Leeroyws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    fort worth
    Posts
    151

    black
    2000 trans am ws6 a4

    torque convertor questions.do i really have a stall?

    ok.just bought another ws6 its a 2000.here is a list of mods.
    ls6 intake
    z06 fuel injectors
    aftermarket cam unknown specs
    241 heads ported, roller rockers
    long tubes
    3" ory
    borla catback
    built suspension
    shift kit.

    ok.the guy i got the car from said this car has a 3500 stall.but when i come to a stop,it acts as if it just wants to go.i got to hold the brakes a bit harder.it runs fine and shifts fine through all gears,but is there anyway to tell if its a 3500 stall?doesnt that mean i have to rev up to 3500 before i get torque?i dont believe it be a 3500 stall.and is there any way that maybe it is a stall and my torque managment is screwed up?i think dtc's would set if that happened though.any help would be great thanks.

  2. #2
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,998

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    a 3500 rpm stall converter doesn't need to be rev'd up to 3500 rpm to work.
    Picture it this way. take 2 box fans, point them at each other, and place them close together. Plug in and turn on one fan. does the other fan start spinning? Yes it does and it spins pretty fast. Can you stick your finger in the unplugged fan and stop it? yes you can. Thats like like a stock
    converter.
    Now take the unplugged fan and move it about 3 feet away. Does that fan still spin? yes it does but at a slower speed. crank the other fan up to high speed and the unplugged fan starts spinning faster and the speed of the 2 fans matches closer to the same than at low speeds. thats like a high stall converter.
    Get it? the power is still transferred between the engine and transmission at lower rpms, just not as strongly...

  3. #3
    Member xmarkx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    EAST bay area Cali
    Posts
    634

    black
    1999 camaro SS

    that helps alot. I've always understood why you have to use a stall and what the end result of using one is but now I finaly grasp how it works lol

  4. #4
    Member Leeroyws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    fort worth
    Posts
    151

    black
    2000 trans am ws6 a4

    Quote Originally Posted by Cutlass View Post
    a 3500 rpm stall converter doesn't need to be rev'd up to 3500 rpm to work.
    Picture it this way. take 2 box fans, point them at each other, and place them close together. Plug in and turn on one fan. does the other fan start spinning? Yes it does and it spins pretty fast. Can you stick your finger in the unplugged fan and stop it? yes you can. Thats like like a stock
    converter.
    Now take the unplugged fan and move it about 3 feet away. Does that fan still spin? yes it does but at a slower speed. crank the other fan up to high speed and the unplugged fan starts spinning faster and the speed of the 2 fans matches closer to the same than at low speeds. thats like a high stall converter.
    Get it? the power is still transferred between the engine and transmission at lower rpms, just not as strongly...
    thanks for the explination.i see how one works now,but i dont understand why my convertor is acting like the 2 fans are too close together.if i truly had a 3500 stall,i dont believe i would have this problem.do you guys think maybe i was decieved and im actually running a stocker?and how can i determine which stall i need if i dont know what cam im running?

  5. #5
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    where does your car idle at? It really sounds to me like you might not have a 3500 stall just from your description. Sounds like it's trying to push through the brakes.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Euclid,ohio
    Posts
    174

    Black
    1998 Z28

    Doesn't sound like it's stalled,my TCI 2800 won't move the car until I give it some gas.

  7. #7
    Member Leeroyws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    fort worth
    Posts
    151

    black
    2000 trans am ws6 a4

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    where does your car idle at? It really sounds to me like you might not have a 3500 stall just from your description. Sounds like it's trying to push through the brakes.
    its kinda hard to explain.in park it idles at 950 or so.in gear, with out me stepping on brakes my car wants to go about 5 mph and it idles about 650 or so but when i come to a light and step on the brakes,its all normal for about 2 seconds then you can feel the drive line 'TORQUING UP" and i have to depress the brake pedal just a little harder,and my rpms come up to about 900.its almost as if everything is fine untill the torque convertor loads up with fluid or something.yeah i think you guys are right i think im running a stocker.ive already found a good shop here to do the r&r, but which size stall should i be running?


    also when the driveline is torqued up and im trying to hold the car with brakes,my rpms climb to about 900,but when i just let off the brakes,and i dont give it any gas,the car creeps foward about 5 mph,and my rpms drop back down to about 650 or or 700.
    Last edited by Leeroyws6; 09-17-2010 at 10:51 AM.

  8. #8
    Member Leeroyws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    fort worth
    Posts
    151

    black
    2000 trans am ws6 a4

    Quote Originally Posted by oldmanZ28 View Post
    Doesn't sound like it's stalled,my TCI 2800 won't move the car until I give it some gas.
    see .thats what i want my car to do.i want to be able to put it in gear with out it slamming into gear.i want to be able to give it a little gas to make it go,not have to stand on the brakes.its getting annoying and i havent had this car 1 week yet.i just dont know which stall to go back in it with.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Stall convertor
    By richard637551 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-03-2016, 09:09 AM
  2. Question: Stall Convertor
    By Bama99z in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-01-2009, 01:58 PM
  3. Stall Convertor. What size/What brand
    By cubs1 in forum Drag Racing
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-19-2008, 03:49 AM
  4. Question: Torque Convertor questions
    By SteveCZ28 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-01-2008, 04:50 PM
  5. WTB torque convertor
    By 99FBODY in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-03-2006, 05:02 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •