Results 1 to 10 of 10

swap questions

This is a discussion on swap questions within the Drivetrain forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; so i have an abs/ non tcs rear end with2:73 in my car and i bought a rearend with abs/tcs ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Winnebago Il.
    Posts
    79

    black
    2000 Trans Am

    swap questions

    so i have an abs/ non tcs rear end with2:73 in my car and i bought a rearend with abs/tcs with 3:23's. can i just swap them and not hook up the tcs and be fine or is this going to be a problem? also how do you tell if the rearend has tcs? the guy said it did but what can i look for to make sure? thanks

  2. #2
    Impounded
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beaver Dam KY
    Posts
    7,746

    79 T/A -91 Firebird
    1998 Trans Am -Oynx Black

    Quote Originally Posted by Al Hazz View Post
    so i have an abs/ non tcs rear end with2:73 in my car and i bought a rearend with abs/tcs with 3:23's. can i just swap them and not hook up the tcs and be fine or is this going to be a problem? also how do you tell if the rearend has tcs? the guy said it did but what can i look for to make sure? thanks
    TCS has exciter rings and extra sensors other that the one in the main "hog head" of the differential.

    It will work fine.

  3. #3
    That guy thearborbarber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SoDak
    Posts
    892

    White over Red
    1991 Suburban

    You can swap no problem. TC rear ends have the abs sensors near the wheels. Non TC cars have the abs sensor in the pumpkin.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Winnebago Il.
    Posts
    79

    black
    2000 Trans Am

    so with the sensors being in different locations is my speedo not going to work?what do i to get the abs sensors hooked up so they work? thanks!

  5. #5
    Impounded
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beaver Dam KY
    Posts
    7,746

    79 T/A -91 Firebird
    1998 Trans Am -Oynx Black

    Quote Originally Posted by Al Hazz View Post
    so with the sensors being in different locations is my speedo not going to work?what do i to get the abs sensors hooked up so they work? thanks!
    just plug it up to the stock location.

    It will not affect speedo because it is a wheel speed sensor and not a vehicle speed sensor

  6. #6
    That guy thearborbarber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SoDak
    Posts
    892

    White over Red
    1991 Suburban

    Your speedo is driven by the computer that gets its input from a sensor in the transmission. You really need a rear with matching abs/tc options to have your abs work. It can be done but would be spendy

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Winnebago Il.
    Posts
    79

    black
    2000 Trans Am

    i cant plug it back in because the sensors are in different places, my stock one was in the pumpkin and the one i have now is by the wheels and i dont have the wires or connectors to hook it up. and now my speedometer is way off after i changed rear ends, so do i just take it to get it recalibrated to work properly?

  8. #8
    That guy thearborbarber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SoDak
    Posts
    892

    White over Red
    1991 Suburban

    Quote Originally Posted by Al Hazz View Post
    i cant plug it back in because the sensors are in different places, my stock one was in the pumpkin and the one i have now is by the wheels and i dont have the wires or connectors to hook it up. and now my speedometer is way off after i changed rear ends, so do i just take it to get it recalibrated to work properly?
    Correct

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Winnebago Il.
    Posts
    79

    black
    2000 Trans Am

    what about the abs sensors, where do i get the wires and connectors to hook that up since its different?

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Euclid,ohio
    Posts
    174

    Black
    1998 Z28

    you don't,it's a different system/circuit.In order for everything to work properly,a 3 channel rearend should only be replaced by another 3 channel rearend.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ls1 to ls2 swap questions
    By slpws6ta in forum General Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-28-2010, 09:25 AM
  2. LSX swap Questions
    By casperss in forum General Help
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-26-2008, 02:33 PM
  3. Help: 98 T/A LS9 Swap Questions
    By 317Born in forum General Help
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-21-2008, 09:42 PM
  4. V6 to V8 swap questions
    By bigship in forum General Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-07-2008, 01:51 PM
  5. A few LS1 swap questions?!?!?!?!?
    By COJO_24 in forum General Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-11-2008, 02:42 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •