question on gears

This is a discussion on question on gears within the Drivetrain forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Hi there, Looking for some experience here. I have 353's on my 99m6 ss. wondering what I could expect for ...

black
    1999 camaro ss

question on gears

Hi there,

Looking for some experience here. I have 353's on my 99m6 ss. wondering what I could expect for engine revolutions when doing 65mph if I switch to 411's. Also wondering about 1/4mile gains to be expected with that same chage.

Anyone have any ideas? I am fairly new to this drivetrain performance upgrading stuff...

Thanks for feedback!

racing rev

Red
    02 35th LE Camaro SS

I just upgraded to a 4.11 from the stock 3.42. At 70 MPH, my RPM was 1500 and it is now right around 2000. This is for a M6.

Not sure on the 1/4 mile time. Someone will chime in.

BTW - I LOVED that gear change!
    It's on jackstands.

Silver 2002 WS.6
    Red 1989 Formula

I have 4.10's... Is it a big difference between 4.10's and 4.11's? If not my revs are at like 1800-2000 as well doing 65..

And for 1/4 mile times... well truth is you wont see better times unless you get better tires. My personal experience with nitto drag radials...

Before: I would bog at the line and then just spin 1st and 2nd and my 60's were 2.3, 2.2 and even 2.4 at times..

Now: I hook as soon as i launch and then just goes sideways and spins like crazy all 1st, 2nd, and with street tires even 3rd goes sideways but my 60's are a little better 2.2, 2.1 and on a good day 2.0 but never anything below 2.0 cuz i NEEEEED better tires!!

But you will have lots of fun with new gears

black
    1999 camaro ss

You'll have to excuse my ignorance on this one...what is a 60??

Thanks a bunch for the feedback guys!

pewter
    2000 camaro ss

Quote Originally Posted by racingrev View Post
    You'll have to excuse my ignorance on this one...what is a 60??

Thanks a bunch for the feedback guys!