Results 1 to 20 of 20

I need help just changed tranny mount!

This is a discussion on I need help just changed tranny mount! within the Drivetrain forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; well i just changed the tranny mount. i got the energy suspension tranny mount, it was my first time changing ...

  1. #1
    Member whiteLS1TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    399

    Artic white
    2001 Trans am

    I need help just changed tranny mount!

    well i just changed the tranny mount. i got the energy suspension tranny mount, it was my first time changing it. i raiseed the car from the rear, a friends told me to put the floor jack under the tranny for support. i did all that but when it came to putting the cross member it seemd like the tranny mount was to tall, and the cross member was sorta teder todering on it.
    so i jacked the tranny up a little and i was able to get the cross member back on. but now my car vibrates a lot an even soubds a lil different. could i have tighten the cross member to tight???

  2. #2
    Just me Y2KPewterSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Age
    42
    Posts
    23,353

    Pewter metallic
    2000 Camaro SS

    Did you put the metal plates in or leave them out that come with the energy suspension mount?
    CCW SP 500s 18x10 275/35 18x11 295/35
    SLP CME with GMMG style catback
    Painted manta stripe

    Quote Originally Posted by konigandy6 View Post
    I'd rather be bi than full homo!!!!

  3. #3
    SS#430 1 of 74 7camaro7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    1,754

    Pewter
    02SS6spd VERT!

    seems to me you would've lifted the car more instead of lifting the tranny more to make the gap closer. its not installed right, I can definitely say that. got pics?

  4. #4
    That guy thearborbarber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SoDak
    Posts
    892

    White over Red
    1991 Suburban

    When I installed my tranny mount I used the metal plate and I had a pretty god vibration. I took out the plate and ground down the two dimples on the bottom so it's the same height as the factory one. Vibration gone.

  5. #5
    Member Benner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Delaware, OH
    Age
    30
    Posts
    946

    Pewter
    2001 GrandPrix GTP

    Your car will vibrate more with the polyeurathane mounts. They allow more vibration to pass through and even more noise. Mine sounds and vibrates more since I've put it in.

  6. #6
    Member whiteLS1TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    399

    Artic white
    2001 Trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by Y2KPewterSS View Post
    Did you put the metal plates in or leave them out that come with the energy suspension mount?
    yea i did use the plate.

  7. #7
    Member whiteLS1TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    399

    Artic white
    2001 Trans am

    what would be the best way to install the tranny mount??

  8. #8
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by Benner View Post
    Your car will vibrate more with the polyeurathane mounts. They allow more vibration to pass through and even more noise. Mine sounds and vibrates more since I've put it in.
    They also vibrate more because the mount itself is taller,,,even without the plates,,,,so you are changing the driveshaft angle, which in turn causes vibrations.

    Just as Mr. Barbor mentioned, removing the plate, and grinding down the bumps until the mount is at the same height as the original will eliminate the vibration issues. (been through this on several cars)

    You will however just as you mentioned,,,still have the noise issue,,,since the tailshaft is now mounted more solid,,,so anything coming from the rearend transfers up through the torque arm and right inside the car.

    Just one of the flaws of a torque arm setup.


    What I did.......I found the new mount with the shim was 1/4 inch taller than the stock mount. Removing the shim which was an 1/8 inch thick gets you half way there. I then removed another 1/8 inch from the mount itself to get everything back in alignment.

  9. #9
    Member whiteLS1TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    399

    Artic white
    2001 Trans am

    any tips on how to put the cross member back on with out jacking up the tranny?

  10. #10
    That guy thearborbarber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SoDak
    Posts
    892

    White over Red
    1991 Suburban

    I suppose one could bolt the crossmember to the tranny and then jack the crossmember and tranny into place or are you trying to get away with not using a jack period?

  11. #11
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    I am unclear as much as I think Barber is....

    I'm not sure what the real issue is here. Is there a reason you cannot raise the transmission up??? Generally that is a necessity in order to get the crossmember and all retaining bolts aligned before tightening anything.

  12. #12
    Member whiteLS1TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    399

    Artic white
    2001 Trans am

    sorry for being so vague. how far can you jack up the tranny? does the cross member keep you from having the tranny jacked up to high?

  13. #13
    Tatasta rcleveland@barrick.c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    43

    Black
    '99 TA

    That poly mount is why you have rattles and vibration...Period. Your jack bled off a little letting the trans drop a little so it needed to be lifted back up. I ran my poly mount for ~ 25 miles then shit canned it for a new OEM. It's a crappy mod that is necessary for high hp/tq applications but alot of people put them on that don't need them.

  14. #14
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by rcleveland@barrick.c View Post
    That poly mount is why you have rattles and vibration...Period. Your jack bled off a little letting the trans drop a little so it needed to be lifted back up. I ran my poly mount for ~ 25 miles then shit canned it for a new OEM. It's a crappy mod that is necessary for high hp/tq applications but alot of people put them on that don't need them.
    I guess you have never ripped them in half???? You must be one of the luckiest people I have met.

  15. #15
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by whiteLS1TA View Post
    sorry for being so vague. how far can you jack up the tranny? does the cross member keep you from having the tranny jacked up to high?
    You should be able to raise the tranny with ample room to work. Removing the cross member isn't even necessary.

    After raising the transmission you can simply slide the old one out and slide the new one in.

  16. #16
    O U 8 1 2 Spaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    over here...
    Age
    39
    Posts
    25,693

    []D [] []V[] []D
    1999 trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by rcleveland@barrick.c View Post
    That poly mount is why you have rattles and vibration...Period. Your jack bled off a little letting the trans drop a little so it needed to be lifted back up. I ran my poly mount for ~ 25 miles then shit canned it for a new OEM. It's a crappy mod that is necessary for high hp/tq applications but alot of people put them on that don't need them.
    mine don't rattle or vibrate like every one says...

  17. #17
    Tatasta rcleveland@barrick.c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    43

    Black
    '99 TA

    Quote Originally Posted by Firebirdjones View Post
    I guess you have never ripped them in half???? You must be one of the luckiest people I have met.
    Read the post. You know all of it. Necessary if you need it. Alot don't. Must not have BIIIIIIIGGG HP like you..........Stud.

  18. #18
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by rcleveland@barrick.c View Post
    Read the post. You know all of it. Necessary if you need it. Alot don't. Must not have BIIIIIIIGGG HP like you..........Stud.
    I'm flattered,,,thanks. Actually I break them at stock HP levels,,,my stock 88 L98 Iroc broke one,,,with the automatic on the 1-2 upshift and it was no powerhouse

    My wifes stock 97 Z-28 6-speed broke too,,,without trying too hard. It's easier to do with the stick cars and makes the poly mount almost a necessity stock or otherwise.

    My 02 SS is an auto,,,,and it had torn the mount enough to make it bang against the floor,,,and it was a stocker at the time as well,,,at the time it only had 4 strip passes on it it's entire life.

    It's just a fact that it's only a matter of time with the torque arm constantly lifting up on the transmission tailhousing.
    I've got more examples if you like.

  19. #19
    Tatasta rcleveland@barrick.c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    43

    Black
    '99 TA

    Patriot LS6 CNC 243s~TR224 112~LS6 intake~SLP lid~Mac mids~ORY~BorlaMouth~Fuddle 3400 2.1 Stall~BFG DRs 275/40/17~UMI adj. TA~Tune by STS~BMR LCAs~BMR PHB~3.89 9" Moser

    No problem Jones. This is my current setup and no issues with mine.

  20. #20
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by rcleveland@barrick.c View Post
    Patriot LS6 CNC 243s~TR224 112~LS6 intake~SLP lid~Mac mids~ORY~BorlaMouth~Fuddle 3400 2.1 Stall~BFG DRs 275/40/17~UMI adj. TA~Tune by STS~BMR LCAs~BMR PHB~3.89 9" Moser

    No problem Jones. This is my current setup and no issues with mine.
    You are either the luckiest man alive,,,,drive like grandma,,,,,or your adjustable torque arm is no longer mounted to the transmission tailhousing.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. new tranny mount
    By JadedBird in forum Drivetrain
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-18-2013, 06:27 AM
  2. tranny mount
    By 10xowner in forum General Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-28-2010, 10:54 AM
  3. Question: tranny mount 95 t/a
    By silkee9 in forum General Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-17-2010, 03:22 PM
  4. Need a good T56 (LS1) Stock Tranny mount & Torque arm mount..
    By 1slosnake in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-19-2006, 04:04 PM
  5. Need a good T56 (LS1) Stock Tranny mount & Torque arm mount..
    By 1slosnake in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-13-2006, 06:24 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •