give me knowledge about rear ends

This is a discussion on give me knowledge about rear ends within the Drivetrain forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; i have no idea about rear ends at all. everyone says that stock rear ends are crap. i have a ...

black
    1998 Camaro SS

give me knowledge about rear ends

i have no idea about rear ends at all. everyone says that stock rear ends are crap. i have a 98 ss m6. why are they so crappy? how is a 12 bolt better? and what do different gears mean. ive hear of putting 3.73 and 4.10. is there a certain gear that is the best? it affects gas mileage but how much? how much power do you gain? isnt the idea that when you change the gears you either lose top speed but gain torque, or gain top speed and lose torque. mine is a daily driver so i would want gears that give me lots of torque. any info or explantion of rear ends and gears would be great bc im a NOOB. Thanks

White
    01 Camaro 6speed