Red
    1999 Camaro SS

bad clutch or no traction??

So I'm new to the power of the LS1. Tonight I finally mustered the courage to get on it good and the thing is a beast!

Car has 49,000 miles on it.

But, I noticed on the 1-2 shift and 2-3 shift that it either seems like the clutch is slipping, or there is a loss of traction. At partial throttle the clutch grabs hard on quick shifts.

My tires are virtually silent when they lose traction, and I was told by the previous owner there are 8,000 miles on the rubber (Fuzion ZRi's I think? forgot), and it looks like there is a pretty decent amount of tread left.

My question is, is the engine powerful enough to spin the tires a bit in the upshifts? I have never experienced power like this coupled to a 6spd before, ha. So I have nothing to fall back on.

All I know is this thing is balls-out fast!

let the F-Bodies roll jimmybling31's Avatar

white
    94 camaro z28

Quote Originally Posted by Poppn View Post
    So I'm new to the power of the LS1. Tonight I finally mustered the courage to get on it good and the thing is a beast!

Car has 49,000 miles on it.

But, I noticed on the 1-2 shift and 2-3 shift that it either seems like the clutch is slipping, or there is a loss of traction. At partial throttle the clutch grabs hard on quick shifts.

My tires are virtually silent when they lose traction, and I was told by the previous owner there are 8,000 miles on the rubber (Fuzion ZRi's I think? forgot), and it looks like there is a pretty decent amount of tread left.

My question is, is the engine powerful enough to spin the tires a bit in the upshifts? I have never experienced power like this coupled to a 6spd before, ha. So I have nothing to fall back on.

All I know is this thing is balls-out fast!
    it definitely does. my lt1 a4 spins seccond and 3rd

Yes, fuzions are not screetchers. Great tire and very predicable on the corners. I have gone through about 8 sets on 16 inch rims.
    04 C5 A4 Torch Red - sold