Thread: 4l60e headache

Black
    1998 Trans Am

4l60e headache

newbie here, 1st post so bear with me....
    Recently purchased a 98 trans am a4 car.. My third f body, love these cars, 1st 4l60e car.
    Let me start off by saying this car was neglected, needed a ton of work. crack lid, missing bolts everywhere, cracked coil packs, hanging botched exhaust, but the body was in pretty good shape, no rust , florida car... In hind sight, probably over paid at 6000, but it is what it is....
    since purchasing the car ive done the following:
    Super sucker, ac delete ram air kit, fast toys 98 mm lid, vette 85 mm maf, ported the tb, tb coolant bypass, ls6 intake, VMH high output coil packs, TSP 1 7/8 long tube headers, 3 inch Y pipe, borla exhaust, slp underdrive pulley, came with aftermarket panhard bar and rear lca's as well as bolt on sfc's.
    while doing the headers i noticed one of the torque converter bolts was sheered off, so now im seeking information on the 4L60e.
    Im not putting a stock converter back in, nor does it make sense to a brand new yanks or tci converter against a transmission that has 100,000 miles...
    ive done some research and have a good idea of what I want inside my transmission, shift kit, vette servo, .500 boost valve, sonnax pinless accumulator, 5 pin planetary, 3-4 upgrade ect....
    NOW FOR MY QUESTION...................
    Local trans guy says stick with the stock converter and states " if you put a 3600 stall torque converter in it, the car wont move until your motor revs to 3600 RPM's " when taking off from stop signs and traffic lights.......
    Is this true????