Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

4:10's or 3:73's in an a4

This is a discussion on 4:10's or 3:73's in an a4 within the Drivetrain forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I graduated from high school right into the 'original' muscle car era. typical FACTORY options were up to 4.56,the 69 ...

Black
    1998 Z28

I graduated from high school right into the 'original' muscle car era. typical FACTORY options were up to 4.56,the 69 camaro even had 4.88 in the option code. gears back then were used to make cars into 'light to light' streetfighters. the dragstrip was OK but the street is where you earned respect/fear.
    I love the overdrive trannys,gives me the ability to have the best of both worlds,a wicked gear and decent mpg. I used to get 6mpg in my 65 gransport when I would rejet the carb for strip duty.

Quote Originally Posted by oldmanZ28 View Post
    I graduated from high school right into the 'original' muscle car era. typical FACTORY options were up to 4.56,the 69 camaro even had 4.88 in the option code. gears back then were used to make cars into 'light to light' streetfighters. the dragstrip was OK but the street is where you earned respect/fear.
    I love the overdrive trannys,gives me the ability to have the best of both worlds,a wicked gear and decent mpg. I used to get 6mpg in my 65 gransport when I would rejet the carb for strip duty.
    I can understand that. I just can't bring myself to shove an overdrive in any of the classic cars. Just seems to dampen the experience, well that and the fact that they are getting to be worth too much money to decimate like that.

dbl clutch'n like i shld WICKEDLS1's Avatar

sebring silver
    Y2K SS CAMARO

Quote Originally Posted by Firebirdjones View Post
    I have another car with 4.88's, no overdrive. My buddy drove his COPO around since the 70's with 5.13's in it.
    JESUS

2007 Cadillac Escalade
    98 Camaro SS, 09 G8 GT