Thread: 69 Stingray

69 Stingray

So... I'm fixing to head to Iraq for a year before the end of the year (hopefully) and while there I'll be saving up alot of cash. Basically when I come back I'm going to have 30+K to drop on a car of my choice and get it setup the way I want. One of the cars I'm debating on purchasing is a 69 Vette. I'm not very good with car type stuff (though I'm endevoring to learn) so my question is... how hard would it be to fix up a 69 vette that was in good condition? By fix up I mean bring up to about 450-500hp? If it had the classic engine in it would I have to pull it (sell it) and purchase a LS1 or some other engine to drop into it in order to crank out the kind of power I'm looking for? 450-500 is just my first goal I'm looking to stop at around 600 someday. Sorry if this is a completly uneducated post but I'm a car idiot Any advice would be appreciated.

2 SS's are better than 1 Jays00ss's Avatar

NBM / Silver
    00 SS / 71 SS Elcamino

With that kind of money you can get a nice vette. Older motors are easy to work on and you can get that kind of hp easily with a rebuilt stock motor. especially if you buy a big block car.
    You can rebuild an older big block from 5-8k, and get to the 500 hp rateing real quick. It just all depends on you, your skill level, weather you want a completed car or project. Vettes get expensive. I've always had old novas, chevelles, and camaros. If I had that kinda money I would buy a already done 66 or 67 nova SS. look on ebay you can find a nice 400-500 hp tubed prostreet car that looks absolutely killer for that kinda dough.
    Just my 2cents worth
    2000 SS Camaro Heads, Large cam, Fast 90, 9"w/430's and locker, yada yada yada... you get the picture

1971 SS ElCamino 402 Big Block 550HP

2006 Silverado 2500HD 496 cubic inches of pure muscle

NBM / Silver
    00 SS / 71 SS Elcamino

BlackCherry
    Bad Ass 67 Camaro / 2010