Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Black
    2001 Trans AM WS6

Trying to adjust rocker arms on 2001 Trans Am WS6

I took off my rocker arms to check the push rods. All are good. Now I am trying to adjust the rocker arms.
    I have looked at many threads saying to run the motor and loosen the bolt until the rocker chatters, then tighten until it stops, add 1/4 turn and you're done. I have done that, but once I finish all 16 rockers, I notice that many of them are chattering again and the bolts are very loose. I have seen threads that discuss a set screw but I don't see one or any other way to keep the screw from backing out. Am I doing this right? Sorry, I am a newbie to this engine stuff, but I'm trying to learn.

-Tom

Stealth Grey
    2005 CTS-V

Factory LS rocker arms are non adjustable. They are torqued to spec and your done. The only adjustment is longer or shorter pushrods, unless you have upgraded the rocker arms.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2

Black
    2001 Trans AM WS6

So do I just tighten them all to a specific torque? Or do I need to set the cylinders in a certain position before torquing?

blue
    2001 silverado

I think factory is 22 foot lbs but i may be wrong. That at TDC for the valve. Set screw would be right in the middle of the nut!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using Tapatalk 2

Stealth Grey
    2005 CTS-V

The valve you are tightening should be on the base circle of the cam. Then torque to 22ft-lbs.

Black
    2001 Trans AM WS6

One thing I noticed while I was running the motor with the valve covers off is that I'm not getting much oil. In looking at other threads, I was expecting oil to be spattering everywhere. I was able to get a small stream of oil out of the 5th rocker arm back from the front of the driver's side if I loosened it up quite a bit. The others don't seem to provide much oil. Is this normal?