White
    98 Trans am

Talking Time to build that motor Ive always wanted! Any suggestions?

The journey begins to build a motor for my amazing car any help or advise will be greatly appreciated!

First line of issue, what motor to start with? ls1 vs ls6! I have seen several postings that explain some of the advantages ie. better grade of aluminum and better internal cooling ect however what I would like to know is after all the P’s and Q’s is there a big difference in power and reliability? I am not looking to build a 1200hp motor this is still going to be my DD but if there really is a big difference I would like to know so I am not kicking my self in the head later...

Also, should I be looking for an already built motor or is there a lot of advantage in starting from the block up? I am a novice when is comes to the wrench (I can do a lot of the basics I just have never pulled a motor to pieces before) I do also have a lot of close friends that can help, I just don’t want to get in over my head!!

Red
    02 35th LE Camaro SS

You need to state what your goals are for this car before anyone will be able to really offer any feedback in my opinion.

Street use? Track?

Daily driver - so you probably don't want a large cam.

A4 or M6?

Staying N/A? FI?

What ET are you looking to get?

Do you have a budget?

Are you only looking at LS1 vs LS6 or open to other ideas?

hugger orange

Iron block 408
    Forged rotating assembly
    ported/ milled heads
    255/263 .624/624 115lsa cam
    12.5:1 compression

Just a thought

Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

Do a LSX 454 if you have the money. With some cnc'd ls7 heads and a tsp ls7 cam.

Red
    2000 camaro ss

455 LSx ftw!!

White
    98 Trans am

Quote Originally Posted by 35th-ANV-SS View Post
    You need to state what your goals are for this car before anyone will be able to really offer any feedback in my opinion.

Street use? Track?

Daily driver - so you probably don't want a large cam.

A4 or M6?