Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Red
    2002 Camaro SS 35th LE

Simple Cam questions

I'm new to the whole internal engine upgrades, and my knowledge is very limited. To keep it simple, I'm curious about a few things with a Cam. I've done some research, I've seen the differences in Cams and what "you" want to do with them from mild to extreme.

Being a normal daily driver, might occasionally visit the track for fun, but nothing serious. What would be a good cam to go with to get a good HP gain? Also, what kind of gas mileage am I looking at if I put an aftermarket cam in, better or worse? When you put in an aftermarket cam and the other necessary upgrades, is more maintenance required on your engine in a shorter time span?

I'm trying to decide if putting a Cam in as a future upgrade is a highly valuable one without ruining my engine just being a daily driver but would like that extra horsepower boost from a great Cam. This is where my lack of knowledge really kicks in with the internals of the LS1 engine. I would like to read some opinions from some of you guys on what you think I should do. This would be one of the last upgrades I would do outside of my headers and exhaust. Supercharging would be getting out of my league. Street fun (being faster than the new 2011 5.0's is a high priority for me since I hate Mustangs) is mainly what I enjoy and just your average driving to places.

Any other upgrades or suggestions to go along with the Cam would be appreciated as well. Any things that may be overlooked when you put a Cam in.
    2002 Camaro SS 35th Anniversary Edition
    Vert M6
    SLP CAI
    Hooker Super Comp Ceramic Coated LT's
    3" Ebay Catted Hooker Y-Pipe
    SLP Loudmouth I Center Mount with SLP tips

Black
    99 WS.6 - Modified