boycott wal-mart

silver
    98 T/A WS6

Smile replacing rockers/pushrods. need a little help

I know this has probably been beat to death, and i did a search but it seems like there are 2 opinions.

my valvetrain has become noisy, so im going to replace my rockers and pushrods to attempt to quiet them down. my question is basically about replacing the rockers. is there a specific sequence/procedure to do it? does one of the pistons have to be at tdc? if so, is there a mark on the crankshaft/camshaft gear to help me out? I have never done it before, so barney style might help. thanks.

silver
    1998 SS Z28

Thumbs up lash

you need to set the valves at TDC of each cyl. on the comprestion stroke. Start with #1 cyl and use the firing order to go around from cyl to cyl. If you can find a service man. there are cylinders you set the lash at the same time.Have fun..........pull all the plugs out with both side valve covers off and a big ratchet to turn ur LS over by hand. Have a budd put his finger in the spark plug hole .......turn and wa la TDC watch ure rockers n valves work on the other 3 strokes. You will see..Duck

black
    2014 camaro 2ss/rs

you don't have to do the TDC method. all i do is unbolt the rockers, pull the pushrods, install new pushrods, install new rockers. take your time tightening them down. once you have snugged them down, then turn the motor over one full turn and go back through and snug them down. now, torque them to 22 ft-lbs. this assumes stock type rockers.
    Cold Air Intake, Muffler Delete, Vinci High Performance Dual Valve Springs, Hardened Pushrods, Yella Terra 1.85 Rockers, Some Hydropdipped Stuff, Strut Tower Brace, Some SS Badges, boost/vacuum gauge, fuel pressure gauge, some checkered stripes, drilled/slotted rotors, ZL1addons Stealth wickerbill, Ruxifey LED side markers

boycott wal-mart

silver
    98 T/A WS6

Quote Originally Posted by mrr23 View Post