Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Please Advice on UPGRADES.

This is a discussion on Please Advice on UPGRADES. within the Internal Engine forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Hey all. I have the engine out of the car and am changing all gaskets and oil seals. My question ...

White
    1999 30th Trans AM WS6

Please Advice on UPGRADES.

Hey all.

I have the engine out of the car and am changing all gaskets and oil seals.
    My question is.. is there anything thats worth upgrading before i put it back?

I have been thinking about cam etc, but i have no experience in this, thus i don't know what i need. I don't want it to cost a fortune and i still want to be able to drive the car normally. I don't race with it, but more power is always welcome.

About cam install. Is the cam itself adding power, or how does it work? Will it make the engine idle crap?
    If i change cam, do i automatically have to change other things as well? Like valve train, pistons, heads etc?
    Will it create a lot of wear on the engine? Are there risks involved?

Maybe there is something more important than the cam to focus on?

I don't want to put on a nitrous system yet.

My current mods are:
    FAST LSx 90mm Intake
    FAST 90mm TB
    FAST Fuel rails
    Air lid
    Headers
    Underdrive pulley
    LS7 Clutch&Pressure plate

All help is much appreciated.
    Thank you

PS. I shop mostly from ws6store.com, so i would be happy if you could point me to their products/website for examples on what to get.

98 Formula
    06 duramax

wow, talk about a wide open question I'm getting ready for bed and I'm sure several people will reply to this as far as doing a cam and heads. I would recommend it. There's virtually a cam setup out there for everyones needs. The main thing I wanted to point out to you was to replace your rod bolts while you have the engine out. As long as the motors out why not replace one of the weaker links while you're at it. It's cheap insurance.