New to LS1's..buildup questions

This is a discussion on New to LS1's..buildup questions within the Internal Engine forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Hey gang- I am new to the LS1 engines. I am looking to get my LSI in my 01 Camaro ...

New to LS1's..buildup questions

Hey gang-

I am new to the LS1 engines. I am looking to get my LSI in my 01 Camaro rebuilt/built up. I am on about a 3500-4000 dollar budget. I dont need anything real fancy, just would like more power. I am taking the motor into a shop, I just would like a bit of a heads up before I go in.

I basically want more power/torque with minimal programming, tuning, etc. I am okay with a stall converter, but as far as the prgramming goes I am a bit scared. Nobody in my area seems to have a clue.

What would you guys recommend? I know the block needs to be bored, and I am also looking to put a new cam/springs/pushrods in there as well. How about those Professional Products intakes and throttle bodies?

I also will not be running any kind of forced induction.

Is my budget to small? Like I said, I dont need anything fancy, also it will be street driven.

Counld you point me in the right direction as far as a cam for the stock heads, programming, etc?

Thanks guys!

Black
    02 SS #8719

Heads/cam intake and exhaust set up could be done on that budget if you did some careful shopping. But on the tune aspect make sure you do find someone who KNOW WHAT THE HELL THEY ARE DOING! N20 of course is a good bang for you buck, but I believe you'd spend about the same $ to really get the juice set up RIGHT, not just thrown in in your buddys driveway on the weekend. You'll still need a good tune in my opinion.

Stroked Slowmaro

Silver
    2000 Z/28