Mixing LS3/LQ4 on LQ4 build?

i have a 2002 LQ4 that I got for a smokin' price - everything looks good in it. destination is a 64 impala ss. i like the tunability of EFI. I like the fact I understand a carb. if I go carb, intake and carb are pretty straight forward. if I go efi, here is the question: i'm looking at ls3 intake with l92 heads. assuming that's a reasonable combination, can i use the existing TB on my truck intake with an LS3 intake? i'm not looking to go to the track nor do i intend to drive the car really hard on the street. At 400 HP or over, I'm happy for a start. More is better but 400-450 is probably as much as I'll need.

currently, i have the stock intake with 317 heads. i'm not intending to go forced induction so I'm getting rid of the heads I have in favor of l92s. I have an early 4L60E to go with it, but i also have TH350 (I think) in a parts car i could use. have a set of headers from an SBC 350 build.

i'm an LS newb (as if i needed to tell you that) so be gentle with me. advice greatly appreciated.

Kevin

Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/ mods, 00 FBVert

Welcome to the site. Where in E. TX are you at? I have family in Kilgore area.

For the TB question - no, it is too small and more importantly the 5.3 TB is 3 bolt pattern and the LS3 is 4 bolt. After market gives you a few options on TB issues. Nick Williams 102mm can be both cable or drive by wire (like the LS3 TB is) and is affordable.

LS3 intake & Heads on a 6 liter is a common swap. The 6.0 liter GEN III/IV blocks are the only block that can handle LS3 heads and intake.

If you go with a carb setup the Victor jr intake is what most guys use. I've read articles on this setup and I'm pretty impressed. Some great HP & TQ numbers.

4L60E would be the better transmission, sell the 350 for parts money, it won't fit IIRC and other possible automatic is the 700R4 that can bolt up to the GEN III/IV blocks without an adapter plate.

Other items for EFI you need to resource: