Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 40

Lets play, Is my cam too big?

This is a discussion on Lets play, Is my cam too big? within the Internal Engine forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Okay, see sig for others mods. (just in case; Pace longtubes, dual cutouts, stock exhaust out the back, vig 3800 ...

  1. #1
    Member jmhvenom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Age
    32
    Posts
    823

    Silver
    2002 Z28

    Lets play, Is my cam too big?

    Okay, see sig for others mods. (just in case; Pace longtubes, dual cutouts, stock exhaust out the back, vig 3800 stall, 3.73 gears, all free mods, lid, etc)

    I recently had a cam installed, and have had it back to the shop a few times for tuning. Each time it seems like we got it, but I am still stalling out and surging massively. I stall mainly at start, or when coming to a stop and braking, and that is the same time it seems to surge. Oh yeah, it is an A4. To get around peacefully I have to shift into N at a stop. This is not my daily driver, it is a 2002 Z28 w/ 24k miles on it.

    Cam specs, 228/230 .585/.587 112lsa

    Let me know what you guys think, I am getting pretty fed up with the car and sick of embarrasing stalls etc. Can this be tuned out eventually, or should I go with a smaller cam? I am debating almost going to a z06 cam/head combo because I want something that is much more streetable. I go to strip and want to be fast, but I enjoy it mainly on the street.

    I know its out of topic, but does anyone have any experience with a bigger cam and this high of a stall converter? I was not too happy with the stall even before the cam, and since then it seems like it has been doing something where its going into lock up too early and when I coast from 50 or so it kind of shudders a bit.

    Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    8

    Silver
    2002 Trans Am

    That's a pretty big cam and stall, but a good tuner should be able to solve those problems.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    27
    There is either a problem somewhere in the motor or intake, or you need to get a new tuner. That cam should be fine.
    Jake,

  4. #4
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Depending on the cam and stall mostly, that will be a handful if your tuner is an "old-school" tuner who tunes by injector tables rather than going the mile to tune the VE with either extensive street driving with a wideband or a load dyno (not talking about WOT here). I would very likely tune that setup in closed loop speed density. With work, it should be very driveable without these issues.

  5. #5
    member since may 2000 nhraformula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    n/w chicago
    Age
    47
    Posts
    6,933

    black
    2000 nhra edition formula

    that cam isnt too big at all.

    who has been tuning your car?
    2000 nhra edition formula
    a few bolt ons, 379 rwhp
    11.96 @113.25

  6. #6
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by nhraformula View Post
    that cam isnt too big at all.

    who has been tuning your car?
    no need to drag that in and make tension between the guy and his tuner (it's not me!) ...

  7. #7
    Junior Member epmedia's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Spring Valley, CA
    Posts
    16

    Grey?
    78 BMW 320i with mods

    My "OLD SCHOOL" experience would be to raise your idle speed to about 900 RPM. May not pass smog test!, however, safer to drive in stop-and-go conditions, with good brakes. Just my opinion, not solid advice.

  8. #8
    your parts guy!!! 1fastcamarosss11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    cleveland ohio
    Posts
    11,376

    trans am 00 ws6
    1998 camaro ss vert

    Quote Originally Posted by epmedia View Post
    My "OLD SCHOOL" experience would be to raise your idle speed to about 900 RPM. May not pass smog test!, however, safer to drive in stop-and-go conditions, with good brakes. Just my opinion, not solid advice.
    i was thing the same to raise it up.

  9. #9
    LS1 chosen son lemons12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    tennessee
    Posts
    2,010

    TA-White, Camaro-Black
    Track-TA98A4 DD-98z28M6

    ms4 with a 4000 vig stall.. 3.23s.. DD it a lot everyday... surges every once in a while, and its loading up sometimes.. and bucks around 50... but not a pain to drive at all... no stalling or anything.. base tune..... dyno tune coming in middle next week..

  10. #10
    15 sec. Oh yeah, its fast UTVols98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Forest Lake, MN
    Age
    38
    Posts
    488

    maroon
    2000 Z28

    A good tuner should be able to fix that problem cause you have a larger cam but not that big and your lift isn't that high. Like said prior, raising the idle should correct that problem, but won't sound as choppy as it does now. I'm having the same problem with mine right now and I've got a tune scheduled to fix the problem. My cam is a 232/236 with a 644 intake lift.

  11. #11
    Member jmhvenom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Age
    32
    Posts
    823

    Silver
    2002 Z28

    I have nothing but high regard for the tuner so it really wasn't whether he can or not just wondering if this is too big of a cam. I guess i'll just send it out for tuning again. Thanks.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    421

    NBM
    1998Z28

    No its not to big of a cam. I'm running a Vigalante 32-3400 stall with the MS4 cam and I don't have any problems driving my car daily to work. The only time I had problems with it surging was when my MAF got dirty and a $5.00 can of CNC MAF cleaner took care of that.
    TSP 347 SB, TSP Stage 2.5 PRC LS6, TSP MS4, Performabuilt Stage 2 4L60E, Yank PT4000, 4.11s, Fast 90/90, FTRA Cold air intake+all the free mods, Dynatech Supermaxx Exaust System, DMH Cutouts, Hooker Catback/FTRA Tips. Tuned by RPM/Garner NC. 11.28@119

  13. #13
    Simpsons Did it!! 98formy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Age
    36
    Posts
    596

    83 Z28 new project
    98 Formula WS7-sold:(

    I had the same prob with my cam. I made some small changes in the main ve table and raised my desired air flow tables up some and it fixed the prob.

  14. #14
    member since may 2000 nhraformula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    n/w chicago
    Age
    47
    Posts
    6,933

    black
    2000 nhra edition formula

    Quote Originally Posted by jmhvenom View Post
    I have nothing but high regard for the tuner so it really wasn't whether he can or not just wondering if this is too big of a cam. I guess i'll just send it out for tuning again. Thanks.
    dude, i wouldnt hold him in too high of regard. your cam is nowhere to big.
    the problems you are having are simple tuning issues.

  15. #15
    member since may 2000 nhraformula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    n/w chicago
    Age
    47
    Posts
    6,933

    black
    2000 nhra edition formula

    Quote Originally Posted by Frost View Post
    no need to drag that in and make tension between the guy and his tuner (it's not me!) ...
    your correct. whoever is tuning his car for one reason or another just isnt getting done right.
    i see hes in OH, i would take it to EPP in indiana.

  16. #16
    Simpsons Did it!! 98formy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Age
    36
    Posts
    596

    83 Z28 new project
    98 Formula WS7-sold:(

    Quote Originally Posted by UTVols98 View Post
    A good tuner should be able to fix that problem cause you have a larger cam but not that big and your lift isn't that high. Like said prior, raising the idle should correct that problem, but won't sound as choppy as it does now. I'm having the same problem with mine right now and I've got a tune scheduled to fix the problem. My cam is a 232/236 with a 644 intake lift.
    Do you get to Brooklyn Park often, if so, I could try to make some changes for you for free. I have efi live and I think I have unlimited credits for it. As long as i can connect to your computer, I should be able to help you out.

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Riverside OH
    Posts
    81

    NBM
    98 formula

    I drive an A4..H/C/I car too,and my cam is a 232/238 6xx 6xx 111+2lsa...No stalling at lights or stops..I'm in Dayton Ohio.If you need a tuner let me know and I'll pm you his number

  18. #18
    Member fxgs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Camp Hill, Pa
    Posts
    719

    Onyx Black
    2002 SLP Camaro SS

    223 227 .637 .640 110 LSA................starts and runs fine.............my tuner smoothed it out

  19. #19
    Senior Member slims00ls1z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    1,212

    2005 GTO M6 Black
    2000 Z28 A4 Red

    Magic Stick V.3 237/242 .603/.609 3800 stall, 4.11, stock heads, LS6, pacesetters, True duals, 42lb injectors etc. in my Z. It would buck a little at 30-45 mph in OD and lockup, but other than that, it would start with me out of the car, I could sit at a stop light with the air on and never stalled. 800-900 RPM idle all day long. Drove it 200 miles every weekend. Tuner does not have something right or there is something wrong somewhere else.

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    191

    Mystic Teal/Chameleon grn
    1998 TA

    Big cams are going to surge a little bit at low rpm's....but your cam isn't that big. Make sure they tune it on the street AND on the dyno

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Lets play a game..............
    By Y2KPewterSS in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 269
    Last Post: 02-03-2011, 08:53 PM
  2. lets play a game(pictures!!)
    By jaslivers in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-31-2009, 08:52 PM
  3. Lets play a game
    By uLs1a in forum Western Members
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-08-2006, 09:09 PM
  4. Lets play whats the hp/tq game!
    By jinxeng in forum External Engine
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 09-11-2006, 03:15 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •