Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

artic white
    2000 SS LS1

Exclamation help with engine noise

hi guys i have a 2000 camaro ss ls1 and I'm noticing the engine becoming more noisy. Someone told me it was my hydraulic lifters..? I'm sure its in the top of the engine but I'm not a mechanic. When i first crank from cold it sounds fine for the first 20-30 seconds then the "tapping" starts.. Its really starting to worry me, oh btw the car has 67k miles. after the tapping start i can idle it up to maybe 1.3k rpm and the tapping subsides temporarily.

Basically i need some advice here, this car is my baby. I've never rebuilt an engine by myself but I'm an intelligent person and i believe i can do whatever it takes with the right tools and knowledge. What should i do ?

I don't want to get into a big conversation about upgrading with a whole bunch of high performance parts but while I'm fixing it and its simple enough i wouldn't mind adding some high performance stuff to it.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated. thanks

artic white
    2000 SS LS1

bump.....

maybe a set of lifters and pushrods? do they make some sort of "kit" maybe?

Feedback would be great.

black
    2000 z28 conv.

I have the same problem with my ride (Black Z28 conv. 2000.). It only happens when the engine is cold, once it warms up it stops tapping. If idle to 15rs it subsides, but tapping returns at idle. Car has 54k miles on it. Never over rev the engine. I'm still learning the ins & outs of my LS1. I hope it's not the valve train. One thing bad about my camaro, no room to work. Just about everything is in the way.

artic white
    2000 SS LS1

surely there are some experienced people out there that can shed some light on this subject for us.........

silver
    02 SS

mines kinda made a noise since my header swap! but i've been told it's nothin to worry about! i did have a tickin noise in the engine found out the oil level was real low! topped it up & it went! check plug & leads other than that

BLACK