Converter & Cam Time! - how to choose

Ok, First things first...I don't know what I'm talking about, I just started to read up on this stuff but I'm new to it. I run a 2002 WS6, all the typical bolt ons. Primarily a street car, but I will be doing some drag and auto x. On the drag front, I will likely be "racing down" and just trying to pull the guy next to me by a car or so at the line...no need to dig hard on the launch so I can save some beating on the 10 bolt. But I need lots of thrust through the mid range...third currently feels very dead.

I can pull a local mustang bullet badly through 1st and 2nd but he hangs right in there once I hit 3rd....though I've never raced him to the end of the gear we usually shut it down around 115 when I'm still in the lower rpm range of third. Also auto-Xing in 2nd leaves me in the mid rpm range primarily as well.

So that's what I want from my cam, strong mid range. I've been looking at something similar to the TR 224-114 which specs out at 224/224 .563/.563 114 LSA I want it to stay driveable and not completely kill my gas mileage. (Gas mileage is a concern for both cam and converter selection) I'm told I could make more power (and make it at lower rpms) with a 112 LSA but it would also idle rougher and harder on gas.

Now for a converter I've been doing some reading on the yank site and it seems that a converter with a lower STR would be more to my liking. (as I'm not going for the big initial launch but want better mid to high range pull) That means the SS3200 would seem to be the way to go....as I understand it.
    I've noticed though that most places don't list the STR of thier torque converters, just the stall..even yank doesn't always list it.

I'm open to any suggestions as to cam/stall specs and different brands are welcome, as long as they are good quality. Here are links to some of the places where I've been getting my info.
    http://www.ls1howto.com/index.php?article=23
    http://www.converter.cc/tech_talk/