Cam undertaking

This is a discussion on Cam undertaking within the Internal Engine forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Looking to purchase and install a cam in the near future, but i really dont know where to start. I ...

Impulse Blue
    2005 a4 GTO

Cam undertaking

Looking to purchase and install a cam in the near future, but i really dont know where to start. I would really like more knowledge on what a cam does, what type of cam i should choose, and the other required material to accommodate the swap. All input appreciated
    2005 Impulse Blue GTO
    Kooks Longtube Headers (off-road mids) , SLP Loudmouth II Catback, Vararam OTRCAI, MSD Spark Wires, 238/242 .595, Trickflow 225cc Heads, SLP 25% UD Pulley, Breather, Elite Engineering Catch Can, 3200 TC,Hayden Trans Cooler, P&P TB, Dyno tune by Sunshine Performance

Black
    2002 WS6 A4, 2010 ram

I'm no expert on cams but I've asked enough from people on here to know someone that can answer your question will want to know what you use the vehicle for dd,drag,ect. One thing is how aggressive you want the cam to be where you want your power to be low end mid or high end. Rods may need changed if you're an auto a higher stall 3400rpm up is what everyone tells me you'll need to be re tuned (frost). So start by giving that info and someone more experienced with the internal engine set up will hop on and let you know more. Good luck I'm gonna keep a watch on this cause like I said I'm still looking for a can in my ls1.

Impulse Blue
    2005 a4 GTO

Thanks for the input. I def want something that im still able to drive daily, but puts down the work on the strip. I know that ill have to get the chrome moly pushrods and a stall of at least 3200, but beyond that im lost. I would really like a cookie monster level explanation of cams and their functions. Anywho, maybe someone is bored and will enlighten me.

Black
    2002 WS6 A4, 2010 ram