Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

silver
    89 BII, 02 SS

Cam Idiot! Need tons of advice!

Hello, I am a complete idiot when it comes to cam's. I've been reading through the forums and felt it was time for me to get some specific advice. I have a 2002 Camaro SS, it's been sitting in the garage due to rising gas prices so I figuered it's time to install a cam while it's just sitting there doing nothing. I don't really have the space or time to do the work myself, my garage is more of a parking lot type deal and I'm a full time college student.

When I do use the car, I mostly use it to cruise around, not much of a daily driver or track fiend, but I would like to pick up around 50 RWHP (sounds reasonable?) after a tune, maybe more.

My current mods are as follows: Volant Cold Air Intake, SLP LM-1, SLP MAF, unknown ORY (lol), Pacesetter LT's.

I'm not sure about the type of grind / lift to go with for this application. I have read that custom is the best way to go, but the advice on what "custom" is varies. I am also unsure of the brand of springs to go with, I have read quite a bit and peoples opinion varies due to brand loyalty, etc.

2000 Trans Am WS6 LS6
    2006 GTO LS2

I have a Texas Racing custom grind Comp Cam 228/228 588/588 112 LSA. It is a streetable cam with a great powerband. It pulls real hard from 3000-6000 rpm's. If you install a bigger cam, be sure to upgrade your valve springs and pushrods. Texas racing sell them in kits that has all of this. It also has a very mean loppy sound at idle. If you don't like that sound, go with a bigger LSA.
    2010 Camaro
    2006 GTO, LS2, 1 of 475
    2009 Chevy Silverado

TURBO AWD....YESSSSSSSSSS 317Born's Avatar
    08 Mazda CX-7 2.3l Turbo

Quote Originally Posted by WS6ICK View Post