Black
    1999 Z28 Camaro

Question Cam and Head combo?

I recieved my cam about a week ago, its a Patriot Performance the specs are
    226/226 lobe lift is .3476 at intake and .3430 at exhaust, lobe separation is is 112. I am new to cam and heads and am looking for the heads that would create the most power with this cam. Would like to get some where i the neighborhood of 450rwhp eventually. As of now i have a stock 99 Z28 well, it has a flowmaster muffler, but nothing else. I have read of others getting 450rwhp from a head and cam swap so I was wondering what it would take to get close to those results. What head specs should I look for? I was also wondering what the difference was between Patriot Performance stage I II and III heads were? Thanks for all the help

it all depends on what you want......are you going to stroke this motor or leave the cubes stock? are you going to use it for strip or street or both. Is this a daily driver or a weekend car? Is money a factor or do you strictly want performance? If you have stock cubes, want the best heads and want to use it for both street/strip I would buy the AFR 205's.....they are generally considered the best, however the cost quite a bit more than the Patriot heads.....fwiw. I would say ask the cam manufacturer what they would recommend for heads, but being that you got them from Patriot I would bet that they say to get some PP heads. So it is all a matter of opinion, goals, and money......Plus you will need a new rear end and upgraded tranny or clutch.....fwiw.

Rhino21149
    I don't think this cam will give 450 RWHP to you. You probably need something about 20 degrees more duration.

We run a 252/255/113 with .675 lift cam in our forged 408 and it delivers right at 500 on fuel. When we had the stock block we had a 232/228 with heads and it gave about 425.

Black
    1999 Z28 Camaro

what kind of hp do you think i can expect from my 226/226 cam and a good set of heads?

Rhino21149