Navy Blue Metallic
    1999 Camaro SS

Best Heads/Cam for my application

Hey guys,

I'm a proud owner of a 1999 Navy Blue Metallic Camaro SS M6 with some of the usual bolt-on mods. These include:

TSP Longtube Headers
    TSP True Duals with Dynomax Bullet mufflers
    FAST 92/92 ported intake with 92mm throttle body
    Volant CAI
    Spec Stage 3 Clutch
    Moser 12 Bolt with 4:10 gears

and a tune among other things. I haven't run it on a dyno yet so I don't have any specific numbers for you guys, just the parts I put into it.

Lately I've been considering putting a cam and some heads into the car to give it a little more kick, while still being streetable. I know a lot about cars, and I did all of the previous work on the car by myself, but I'm not an expert when it comes to heads and cams. I was wondering what would be a good set of heads and a cam to get the most horsepower possible out of the car while still being able to be a daily driver. I was thinking somewhere around 450 to the rear wheels, but that might be a bit unreasonable..so in that case, just help me out with a heads/cam combo that will get me as close as possible. However, if you think I can squeeze more than 450 out of it, by all means post the better combo.

Thanks for your help.
    -Matt

Black
    2001 Trans Am (sold)

I'd go with a mid 230ish cam and PRC 5.3 or LS6 heads.

hugger orange

like INMY01TA said, or if you have some money and want to get a package, the trickflow 515hp package will net you around 450rwhp and be very streetable

On your ass flashing
    my highbeams

So many choices
    230/224
    228R
    F13
    228/232
    230/228 with dyno graph
    http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/genera...-do-heads.html
    5.3's with 228r
    http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/dynamo...e-doctors.html
    230/224 stalled auto cam only
    http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/dynamo...4-a4-dyno.html

yep, so many choices
    Last edited by c5z28; 05-25-2009 at 09:27 AM.

ASC #753