Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By 35th-ANV-SS

2000 camaro z28 with a ls6 intake what's a good cam

This is a discussion on 2000 camaro z28 with a ls6 intake what's a good cam within the Internal Engine forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I have a 00 camaro z28 with a ls6 intake what's a good combo for heads and cam and a ...

I have a 00 camaro z28 with a ls6 intake what's a good combo for heads and cam and a gears

P.S I'm a newbie my 1st camaro

Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/a little mods...

Depends on what you want, by that I mean heavy track use, mild for DD or a strong street ride that's still drivable and won't kill you in gas mileage.

Also how much $$$ you want to spend?

All cams run about the same in cost $375-$400 and for custom grinds $425-$450

A set of 243 used heads used run about $400-$600 while ported & polish custom heads will cost about $2000.

Add on a LS2 timing chain $60, new lifters $120-$700 (depending on brand & type), a Melling Oil Pump (10295 or 10296) for $150-$180 plus gaskets and fluids.

ARP Head bolts aren't necessary needed for most builds but highly recommended. $180-$300

Silver & Blue
    02 Camaro SS, 04 GTO

Quote Originally Posted by SMWS6TA View Post
    Depends on what you want, by that I mean heavy track use, mild for DD or a strong street ride that's still drivable and won't kill you in gas mileage.

Also how much $$$ you want to spend?

All cams run about the same in cost $375-$400 and for custom grinds $425-$450

A set of 243 used heads used run about $400-$600 while ported & polish custom heads will cost about $2000.

Add on a LS2 timing chain $60, new lifters $120-$700 (depending on brand & type), a Melling Oil Pump (10295 or 10296) for $150-$180 plus gaskets and fluids.

ARP Head bolts aren't necessary needed for most builds but highly recommended. $180-$300
    And that's just the engine. Trans work and/or clutch replacement, suspension, brakes, rear end and tuning. $$$$$$