Results 1 to 6 of 6

Installing Subframes (Question)

This is a discussion on Installing Subframes (Question) within the Suspension and Handling forums, part of the General Help category; I just bought some UMI bolt on sfc's. I was just wondering what amount of torque to tighten the bolts ...

  1. #1
    HUNTER S. THOMPSON FAN Raoul-Duke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    BURBANK
    Posts
    1,120

    Smile Installing Subframes (Question)

    I just bought some UMI bolt on sfc's. I was just wondering what amount of torque to tighten the bolts at and if there is any advice of "not to do's" or problems I may face/things I should do besides putting on loctite. I know it should be simple but Im just making sure cause I'm going to the track on saturday. Thanks for your input guys

  2. #2
    Senior Member bigrondownhiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Orange County, NY
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,674

    Black
    1996 Camaro Z28 vert

    The torque specs should be in the instrucions. make sure the suspension is loaded when you tighten them.

  3. #3
    HUNTER S. THOMPSON FAN Raoul-Duke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    BURBANK
    Posts
    1,120
    Quote Originally Posted by bigrondownhiller View Post
    The torque specs should be in the instrucions. make sure the suspension is loaded when you tighten them.
    When you say loaded, you do mean when the car is on the ground right, just makin sure, lol....
    01 m6 z28 - lid / lt headers / 3' ory w no cats / flowmaster catback w 3' dmh e-cutout / nelson pcm tune

  4. #4
    Member c5z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    8,120

    On your ass flashing
    my highbeams

    Quote Originally Posted by Raoul-Duke View Post
    When you say loaded, you do mean when the car is on the ground right, just makin sure, lol....
    yes

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    New Brunswick
    Posts
    326
    I'm about to do the same thing (mine are 3 point though) I read the instructions when I bought them.....Im going by memory here, but I think the front mounting point had no torque spec. Just give em all ya can I guess, same for the middle mounting point.
    The rear point was 70ftlbs if memory serves, but it said if you got a "clunk" you should retighten to 80-100. Hopefully I'm remembering properly for you, but like it was said above, just look at your instructions.

  6. #6
    Member Lutzfire24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Tampa, FL.
    Posts
    131

    Black
    2002 Trans Am WS6

    Get everything mounted before you tighten any of the hardware fully, I got the UMI three points on my car. It took 30-45mins to mount mine.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question on installing AVIC-D1
    By Black02LS1 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-07-2008, 10:52 PM
  2. subframes
    By basballny2 in forum Suspension and Handling
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-18-2007, 07:48 PM
  3. Help with subframes
    By jmb72 in forum Suspension and Handling
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-25-2007, 06:19 PM
  4. Subframes really help!!
    By juiced99ws6 in forum Drag Racing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-30-2006, 11:13 AM
  5. question about installing TA/LCA's
    By ihatemustangs in forum Suspension and Handling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-21-2006, 09:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •