SOM
    2002 SS

Lightbulb Custom Made VT rear Spring seat isolators !! Any Interest??

Ok so well im a design Engineer for one of the Big 3 (prefer to keep any more detail on that out of the thread please). I didnt want to do the Heater hose mod for a few reasons so i looked for other options.
    I spoke to an oem supplier that I know and because of what I do I had them design a rear upper spring isolator for me that was very thin but would provide a little cushion like the stocker.

A little on my car.. I have ground control coil overs and the rear spring adjusters are at the very bottom and the car still sits a little high. This was with the stock isolator up top. I ended up cutting the rear isolators by 1/2 to 1/3rd of an inch and it did help.. but the cutting wasnt 100% flat and it bothers me when I half ass things. Not to mention the sticky rubber goo everywhere.

Reasons why i didnt wan to do the heater hose mod was that it just didnt feel good to me that the spring isnt flat on top and I didn't liek the idea of the whole cars weight on half a coil on the sheetmetal. An isolator will distribute that load evenly. At least it just felt better to me.

SO back to the isolators... here are the pics...

My stock Isolator. This has already been cut by 1/4 to 1/3rd of an inch using an angle grinder and hacksaw. what a mess...

Spring side of my new Isolator which Ill call a VT isolator. It is a fiberglass/composite like material bonded with Rubber on the spring side and has a stop for the end of the top coil.

My cut OEM isolator Beside the VT isolator. This is the Chassis side. This same material is used directly against steel in its actual application on OEM vehicles.

A shot of the isolator where it will sit on the chassis. Perfect fit.

A shot showing the eibach rear coil close to its sitting position ( to show the stop and fit )

Spring sitting in VT isolator